We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Maharajah

The Maharajah
Ranked #40 of 499 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Bar, Wine Bar, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Maharajah is famous for its exceptional food and there is always something special going on. From the moment you walk through the door a special dining experience awaits you. We accept bookings for parties of ten or more or just for that romantic meal for two. Order a drink from our fully licensed bar, then sit back and enjoy a tradition of authentic cuisine from the Indian Subcontinent in."Purton's Hidden Indian Treasure".Situated in the lovely North Wiltshire village of Purton the Maharajah boasts a unique surrounding. Purton is a lively village with two clubs, two pubs, a top grade hotel and of course The Maharajah Restaurant. "Visit the village and pop in for the finest in Tandoori and Balti dishes".
Reviewed March 11, 2019

Excellent food and service. Good price for eating in and take away. Would highly recommend. Lovely atmosphere

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 218 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2019

So lucky to have such a good indian restaurant on our doorstep. We us them regularly for home delivery and have on many occasion ate in the restaurant.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I decided to give this restaurant a try having moved into the area recently. The previous reviews on TripAdvisor and the high ranking indicated we were in for a real treat, and our new local indian restaurant.
The decor is lovely, but other than that it was all rather average really. Our starters were okay (mixed tandoori and a chicken tikka), but not as nice as most. Our main course were a bit of a mixed experience, my curry was very good indeed, but my wife’s shashlick just consisted of a large chicken tikka starter, no sizzling plate or skillet, just bland with some fried onions.
The service was very slow, no smiles, no asking if the meal was okay, just the bare minimum.
Sadly I don’t think we’ll return, just not quite good enough really. Not cheap either.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank RayWatts90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2018 via mobile

After trying many different curry houses in the area, we now frequently order from here, it’s our favourite Indian but tonight was exceptional. Everything was above and beyond. Popadoms crisp and then melted in the mouth all curries were so full of flavour and texture. Everything we ordered from starters to nann bread was perfect! We can’t wait to order again!!!
Many thanks
Sabrina

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank SabrinaRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2018 via mobile

We went on a Saturday night. Restaurant was quiet, only about a dozen people. I had the chicken pakora starter and the hot fish curry as mains. Both was excellent. I have not tried the fish before. I will have it again. The owner was here tonight.

The last time we went, it was not so good. The service was average, but the food was still good. The owner was away this time and we believe his son was running the restaurant.

But it is still better than anywhere else we’ve been locally for a Indian curry. Service and food.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank christopherho29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maharajah also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Maharajah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing