We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal as always!”
Review of Los Gatos

Los Gatos
Ranked #3 of 442 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Who we are: We are a Spanish style TAPAS BAR. Independently owned and run, which relocated to larger premises in October 2014. This means we are a bar that serves tapas, not a restaurant. Because we are often busy and buzzing, we are not the ideal place for a quiet romantic night out, but we offer a warm welcome to all our and aim to restore you, whether you're in need of food, drink or company. What we do: All our food is prepared here from fresh, locally sourced or imported Spanish ingredients. Our extensive hot and cold tapas menu changes regularly and we list 6-8 daily specials. We have a range of Spanish wines, sherries, beers and spirits. We have some tables in the bar, which can be booked (max 8 people) at lunchtimes or evenings, except Friday and Saturday evenings, when it's first come, first served. Closed Monday lunchtime only, open 6 lunchtimes and 7 nights a week. On Sunday lunchtimes, we serve paella, as is the tradition in Spain, with a choice of mixed, seafood or vegetarian paellas. Advance booking for paella is essential.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal as always!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Four of us went for a birthday meal last night and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We have been a few times before and it always delights. The daily specials were all delicious (and for Red Nose Day so we had to try them all!) and I am always especially fond of the berejenas frites (aubergine chips with honey). There is a good selection of beer and cider as well as a varied wine list all very reasonably priced. We paid £59 for two rounds of tapas, desserts and drinks so excellent value for money and you never feel rushed unlike some other places on a busy weekend evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pse42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    148
    51
    14
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have eaten in here several times both at lunchtime work colleagues and in the evening with friends and family. The food has always been excellent, particularly the Spanish Sunday lunch. The staff are extremely friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joteddyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“FanTAPAStic”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have eaten lunch here a few times and have never been disappointed and this weekend was no exception!
Good service freindly helpful staff and tasty tasty Tapas. It's quite small and they stop serving hot food at 2pm. I want to coordinate a trip down to Swindon for the first of the month as I would love to try the Paella lunch!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HEY63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Really really excellent”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have eaten in this cosy little Spanish bar quite a few times and the food is always excellent. Add to that friendly and efficient staff, a brilliant chef and and top class relaxed atmosphere.

A fantasic location for a date.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food...... Too expensive for the outcome”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the food is good and are children loved it but for two adults and 3 children under 8 with bill of £87!!!! That's hard to swallow. Maybe slighty larger tapas to give better value 3 slices of meat for over £4

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Gatos also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Los Gatos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing