We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite places to eat.”
Review of Los Gatos

Los Gatos
Ranked #12 of 468 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Who we are: We are a Spanish style TAPAS BAR. Independently owned and run, which relocated to larger premises in October 2014. This means we are a bar that serves tapas, not a restaurant. Because we are often busy and buzzing, we are not the ideal place for a quiet romantic night out, but we offer a warm welcome to all our and aim to restore you, whether you're in need of food, drink or company. What we do: All our food is prepared here from fresh, locally sourced or imported Spanish ingredients. Our extensive hot and cold tapas menu changes regularly and we list 6-8 daily specials. We have a range of Spanish wines, sherries, beers and spirits. We have some tables in the bar, which can be booked (max 8 people) at lunchtimes or evenings, except Friday and Saturday evenings, when it's first come, first served. Closed Monday lunchtime only, open 6 lunchtimes and 7 nights a week. On Sunday lunchtimes, we serve paella, as is the tradition in Spain, with a choice of mixed, seafood or vegetarian paellas. Advance booking for paella is essential.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have been to Los Gatos many times both for lunch, dinner, Sunday paella and occasionally just a drink at the bar. I have never been disappointed. The food is of a good standard, served by pleasant people in relaxed surroundings. Note that these guys are fussy about where their ingredients come from and provide details about suppliers on the rear of the menu - and they are always happy to talk about the food, how it is made and why they choose to offer it - great stuff. There is also an interesting selection of drinks to investigate!

My most recent visit was a lunch time meal a couple of weeks ago but I'm reminded to write this review now on my way to write something about the sister restaurant 'Les Chats' which is next door.

Please don't change anything about Los Gatos - except build an extension perhaps!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SPHcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

717 - 721 of 854 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Well priced authentic Spanish food. nice place to eat or pop in for a beer at the bar.

a few more places like this in Swindon would be lovely!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Happy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

good food ( lived in spain for years) nice selection of food, really good beer and cava selection , service was slow and a it cramped. The waitress asked my wife and I if we would mind sharing a table with strangers I said well yes as we are here for a romantic meal so i think she got the hint. would go again probably on a week day though.

1  Thank dkwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Probably my favourite place to eat & drink! A really great atmosphere & always a warm welcome by happy smiling staff! The food is top flight & everything cooked to order. Great wines & good Cava, what more could you ask for?!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chsjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazed to be turned away - we wanted a table for two - there was a table for 4 available - another couple came in - neither of us wanted to share such a small table - the owner wouldn't allow either of us to take it - so we both left - leaving an empty table! Am amazed how any business man would rather have 4 empty seats than 2! Ridiculous!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosGatosSwindon, Owner at Los Gatos, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

I agree with the reviewer that it seems ridiculous that we turn people away when we appear to have free tables. However, Los Gatos is a small tapas bar with a maximum of 29 seats at tables plus 10 stools at the bar. When all of our 2 seater tables are full, if we have unreserved tables for 4 we offer them to couples who are willing to share, or we offer them seats at the bar if there are any free,where we are happy to serve food. Alternatively we offer them a place on the waiting list for a table for 2.
Within minutes of these 2 couples leaving, the table, which is one of our largest, was occupied by a walk-in party of 5. Sorry we couldn't fit you in but hope you will try again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Gatos also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Los Gatos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing