We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Anniversary Celebration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pear Tree

The Pear Tree
Ranked #121 of 431 Restaurants in Swindon
Price range: $12 - $74
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: The Pear Tree at Purton is home to a 2 AA Rosette Conservatory Restaurant serving the very best of modern British cuisine. Join us for a special occasion or just a midweek treat.Open for Lunch and Dinner every day of the week.Lunch from £10 per person, dinner is now individually priced from £15 for a main course. Full Sunday lunch £23. Afternoon Tea £15 per person, bookings required.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Anniversary Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

As has been our long practice my wife and I celebrated our anniversary at this exceptional hotel and restaurant. The owners Francis and Ann were there to meet and greet their guests and to show them into the comfortable bar for pre-dinner drinks. The menu is a set price with 6 or 7 inviting choices for each of 3 courses, canapes and inter-course items arriving to add to the excellent quality of the chosen items. The Pear Tree Wine made from grapes grown in their own vineyard adds to the sense of occasion and is well worth trying. Retiring to the Library for the coffee and home made sweets finishes a lovely way to spend any special evening.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    28
    23
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Little Neston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Held my mothers 90th birthday dinner here and everyone enjoyed the event especially the food. Excellent setting and great space available for our party size (14). Menu offered good variety and the wine list was sensibly priced for a restaurant of this standard.
Found the restaurant from consulting TripAdvisor and it clearly has a well justified and outstanding local reputation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MalcolmLittleNeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place but wont go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Gorgeous views across garden, lovely building, very attentive and charming service - though not in the bar where we had to go and find someone to order - but old-fashioned menu.

It's always discouraging when the description of the food on the menu is physically bigger than the size of the dish itself and every item is smothered in freshly prepared adjectives.

Throwback to the 1970s.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NickJMarlboroughUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
419 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“hugely disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

i had always been a big fan of the Pear Tree but this visit was way below the standards of previous visits.

the atmosphere in the drinks lounge was tight. as there was no music playing, guests seemed to not want to talk for fear of being heard by everyone else in the room so an awkward silence hung over the room

the menu you are handed isn't priced so you don't know in advance what is included and what is extra - for info it's about £35 a head for 3 courses - coffee not included we found out later

there were no vegetarian starters on the menu so they had to adapt the soup to leave out the meat balls. As a vegetarian i am used to having to adapt dishes to make them appropriate so not a problem for me. trouble is they didn't replace the meatballs with anything else so i felt a little short changed. the soup itself though was beautiful.

the main course was cous cous. this is where it really went wrong!
£35 a head and you give me cous cous with a bit of feta and sparse veg!
short changed? - I felt positively ripped off!
it wouldn't be so bad if it was amazing cous cous, but it was plain and positively bland. even the waitress said it looked very plain and she wouldn't eat it.
this chef is typical of many chefs unfortunately, once you remove meat and fish from the plate their imagination dries up.

the rest of the meal was ok but didn't set the world alight and certainly didn't live up to previous standards. i had cheese
my partner had fillet steak (yes he gets fillet steak and i get cous cous!!!) followed by chocolate mousse which he said was very heavy and couldn't eat it. he said the home-made ice cream was nice though.

Anne & Francis were not around this night which is absolutely fine but there was no one really to take their place and host. the restaurant staff were all lovely and really helpful but the lack of any proper host really showed

it was such a shame as i was really excited about returning after a fair absence and i was very under whelmed. not sure i will rush to go back

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

A super restaurant, certainly the best in Swindon, especially to celebrate a special occasion. Food is fantastic, setting and atmosphere are lovely. The staff are very attentive and accommodating.

Helpful?
Thank JSS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pear Tree also viewed

 

Been to The Pear Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing