We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Coeliac's Delight”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #10 of 613 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bistrot Pierre's 'raison d'être' is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and crème brulee with our own take on regional favourites like confit de canard and paté de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Open seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch and dinner we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £11.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.95. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soireé Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That's why you'll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Have just been diagnosed as a Coeliac so need to have a Gluten Free diet.
Well, look no further than here - a separate menu and Gluten Free options on virtually all the menu, plus a Gluten Free Pilsner.
Good service, ambiance, and a loyalty card too....
Thanks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Derbypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marylise74, Director of Sales at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you, your feedback is important as we are getting more and more guests who suffer from various allergies. Kind Regards Marylise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,170 - 1,174 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I took 7 friends here for a birthday meal. There was no fuss at bringing an extra guest. The early sitting of 1800h meant that at the time of booking I was informed we needed to vacate the table by 2015h but at no time did we feel hurried during our meal.

I'm always impressed by the organisation here and even when really busy the orders are taken promptly and service excellent.

The food was delicious and I maintain this offers the best value food in Derby - 7 x 3 course meals, 4 bottles of wine, a cider and tip meant the bill worked out under £30 per head.

I will continue to return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jkbmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marylise74, Director of Sales at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

thank you so much, it means the world to us. kind Regards Marylise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Always a good meal and there is a reason its always very busy its because its always good the staff are top notch and the fiod always fresh and varied perfecr location in derby

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank handyhandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marylise74, Director of Sales at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

lovely comments that my team will love reading. thank you. Marylise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I am pleased too report standards are as good as ever and if there is a restaurant offering better value for money then I would like to eat there. Ate off the lunchtime fixed price menu. Smoked Haddock Risotto, and Salmon Salad Nicoise were both faultless. As the restaurant is always busy a good atmosphere is guaranteed. They have hit upon a winning formula. Long may it continue.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DerbyWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marylise74, Director of Sales at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for your greatly appreciated comments. see you soon. Marylise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

First reviewed 19 August 2013. Visited this restaurant a few more times so decided another review was required and have not been disappointed on any of my visits. The food is superb there is a great atmosphere and the value for three course Sunday lunch (£12.95) is spot on. Staff are very attentive and the service is great and it is just such a relaxed dining experience, no rush to get you fed and out. Well done and keep up the good work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnhp702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marylise74, Director of Sales at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for being a regular customer and for writing such lovely feedback. see you soon, Marylise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing