We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Window seat”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #13 of 589 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bistrot Pierre's 'raison d'être' is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and crème brulee with our own take on regional favourites like confit de canard and paté de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Open seven days a week serving breakfast, lunch and dinner we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £11.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.95. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soireé Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That's why you'll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online.
Cavelossim
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Window seat”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Me and my husband were given a gift voucher from a dear friend and we visited this restaurant at lunch time. This is probably one of the nicest places we've visited to eat. The staff are polite, very professional and attentive, the food was beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed our treat. We loved the decor and atmosphere inside and sat in a window seat enjoyng an unrushed, delicious lunch watching the world go by. We would definately recommend this and it fully deserves the above excellent rating.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracehiggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and so pleased you and your husband enjoyed your lunch with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    934
    406
    132
    46
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our first visit.”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our first meal at the Bistro Pierre will certainly not be our last. Lured by the gluten free menu which actually allowed a choice even for those who also don't eat meat we booked a table for the special xmas lunch. Despite it being busy with xmas parties downstairs and a wedding upstairs the greeting, service and food were excellent. The staff were very gluten aware, the service swift, the food exciting, tasty, well presented and beautifully cooked. I can't fault it and can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and so pleased you enjoyed your first visit. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Slick & professional staff, lovely food!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Having thoroughly enjoyed our work Christmas lunch at Le Bistrot Pierre last December, we were keen to return yesterday for this year's 'do'. There were 25+ of us & as expected at this time of year, we had preordered our meals. No-one was kept waiting, everyone's food was brought out at the same time & it was all piping hot & delicious. Although part of a chain, the food is a far higher standard than in usual 'branded' restaurants, with a French menu of course - mushroom crepes, patés, coq au vin, tarte au citron, etc. A number of colleagues had steak - met with great approval all round, as they were all cooked exactly as ordered. Chocolate torte with Cointreau cream was divine! Three course Christmas menu was £16, so good value for money aswell. The staff were a friendly & professional team who worked hard to ensure service was slick during the busy lunchtime period. Pity I don't live in Derby, I would certainly visit more often. Well done guys!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hopefully we will see you again in Derby or at one of our other restaurants soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice experience”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I came here for dinner a couple of weeks ago but i've just got round to writing up about it now. It was a generally nice experience, good value, friendly staff and nice food. not groundbreaking but a general good package. I will return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank girlpower88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We do like to hear from our customers and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Derby”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I went to this restaurant few times since I moved to Derby. It is very popular and reservation is recommanded, otherwise don't expect a seat for lunch or dinner, because it's always packed.

I tried both sunday lunch and dinner at this place, the restaurant is located at city center, quite nice area of the city centre i think, the deco is nice and cosy, good atomosphere, busy, lively. Food comes in big portion and high quality, for all my visits I was extremely happy with my food and the service. Service can be slow but the waiters are trying their best.

It is not too expensive I think even with wine.

I would recommand this place to people who wants to eat well in derby since there aren't many good choices in derby...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Palslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hopefully we will see you again in Derby or at one of our other restaurants soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing