We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Darleys - Restaurant & Terrace

Darleys - Restaurant & Terrace
Ranked #7 of 576 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $152
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I eat here about every 6 weeks and we love it. This review is specifically in reference to a recent visit where we took about 20 family members to celebrate our daughters 18th. I can't praise the staff enough for how they looked after us. We had a number of elderly relatives with us, one of whom sometimes needs a wheelchair. They had a ramp ready , and were not put out at all when we did not need it. My father was a bit unwell and did not really fancy anything on the menu. The manager asked him what he thought he could manage, and they cooked him something not on the menu which he really enjoyed.
Quite often when going to restaurants with a big party, you are limited in your choice and have to say in advance what everyone wants. Not so here, we had full choice from the normal menu, and people were able to pick on the day what they wanted.
The food was to the usual excellent standard , and £25 a head for 3 courses is very good value.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank a2gxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    107
    64
    30
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to go to insides very nice and the food isn't bad at all but a common theme that has come up is the rude manager she's obnoxious and has very poor customer service skills was very pushy and rude when interacting with one of her colleagues and unfortunately that ruined the mood and the night for me won't be coming back soon unless they can replace the unprofessional manger but apart from that it's a nice little place

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh-riddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We went on a tuesday night and although it was fairly busy the service was brilliant. You are looked after by a team who know exactly how to make the evening special. We opted for the Christmas set menu, the main course I chose was the sea bass on a bed of parsley mash. Every thing was perfect from the olives and hand made crisps while you have a drink and wait for your table, to coffee and a variety of confection at the end. They have the Christmas decor just right as well as atmosphere and temperature. Look forward to going back. The Altons.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Return with no regret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Sunday lunch. Thought this might be a gamble but was excellent, brilliant starter range! Main was both very tasty and a really good portion .wine as always fantastic .
Would highly recommended.
Without doubt best restaurant in Derby.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Derrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Nice food, nice atmosphere but very expensive. Staff very attentive and although some reviews said how cold it was I think they've taken note because it was very comfortable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EssexJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darleys - Restaurant & Terrace also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Darleys - Restaurant & Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing