We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Dinner with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Zest

Restaurant Zest
Ranked #50 of 578 Restaurants in Derby
Price range: $32 - $38
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant Zest is a high quality, award-winning restaurant in the heart of Derby's Cathedral Quarter serving fabulous fresh Modern European & British cuisine. Thanks to all of our customers and staff for helping us become Derby's Restaurant of the Year at 2012 Derby Food and Drink Awards! CHAMPAGNE BREAKFAST AT ZEST For birthdays, anniversaries, special occasions or 'just because' join us for our now-legendary 3 course champagne breakfast! Do breakfast in style for just £24pp available Mon-Sat. if you've never tried us, then come and visit soon to find out what all the fuss is about! Tucked away in a beautiful, converted former stables building, the dining room is smart but relaxed and the atmosphere is fresh and welcoming. The quality and variety of both the menu and the wine list is outstanding. Zest offers the opportunity for truly fabulous 'fine-dining' done in a totally non-intimidating way.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our second visit to Zest for Christmas Day Dinner, initially visiting two years ago. There was seven of us in total and we'd booked back in October and duly completely our pre orders via their 'Tel the Chef' email facility. Slight panic a couple of days before Christmas when one of our party received a call asking us to pre order - we already had!! Anyway, they re took the order and were accommodating with six of us who found the starters fairly uninspiring, and flexed to suit us.

The meal was lovely, a relaxed environment and we weren't hurried at all. We had time between courses to chat and digest. Only a few points to note were the disappointing vegetable selection - mediterranean roasted veg with Christmas Dinner - no thanks, we would have preferred fresh, seasonal veg, and the one person who had the lamb found it to be rather too fatty. Overall a good meal with plenty of food and good value especially with the price options for children and teenagers when so many restaurants rip you off for Christmas Dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fatandfrantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Manager at Restaurant Zest, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks for the review and be assured that we have taken the learnings into 2014. It's only with reviews like yours that we can take key learnings and progress. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    109
    66
    43
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disaster from start to finish”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We ate here a few weeks ago on a Wednesday for "Ladies night". When we arrived, we were told that they didn't have our booking, even though my friend had received a call back from the restaurant to confirm it.

I don't know if they had staffing issues that night, but really, if they'd have just explained the situation, it would have changed our expectations for the evening and this review wouldn't be so bad. In summary:
1. you can't have a glass of wine instead of your free cocktail. I didn't want a cocktail, just a glass of wine. It took me an hour to get a glass of wine
2. we were told the wrong fish of the day and one of my friends who ordered it was actually allergic to one of the ingredients that turned out to be in it
3. when we ordered, we were advised that the veggie main course had run out (at 7:45 on a Wednesday) and had been substituted for a goats cheese and red pepper tart. This was actually what appeared to be three bought mini pastry cases with a tiny bit of goats cheese and a piece of red pepper with some balsamic glaze drizzled over them and half a jar of cranberry sauce as a garnish. Dry and tasteless
4. we didn't order any veg assuming that the main courses would come with some - at no point did our waiter suggest we may want some. Veg doesn't come with the meal so when the dishes arrived we asked for some veg. It took so long to come that the mains were finished by the time it arrived
5. nobody enjoyed their dessert

Basically, a catalogue of errors. We arrived at 7:45 and left at 11:00. Given that there were maybe three other tables on a Wednesday night, this is not my idea of relaxed as stated in the menu, but rather slow with poor service. The fact that they knocked all the drinks off the bill and only charged us for a 2 course meal each without us even having to complain, spoke volumes. Looking at the other reviews on here, it seems like we had a bad deal but I'm in no rush to back to find out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLE1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Manager at Restaurant Zest, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thanks for the review, we have to assume from the information that you have written that it was from October. We have checked our in-house files and have no feedback from you direct to the restaurant. We are a friendly and professional business and are very happy to listen to our customers on a one to one basis and would of been exceptionally happy to talk to you.

The ladies night menu is very popular in the restaurant and is a set deal with a Free cocktail, we don't offer a substitute so will send our apologies if you feel this isn't acceptable. We do have a very strict allergy policy but we would always advise customers to inform us.

We are flattered that you think the food as bought in, we make everything in-house & our chefs work extremely hard to make the perfect food that you were describing. The dish is also a complete dish so additional vegetables wouldn't have been needed.

Without any details about the desserts we can't offer an explanation.

We as always thank you for your feedback, we always take back to the team on a weekly basis and continue to grow stronger because of it. We thank you for the three stars on value, atmosphere & food. We would love to learn more about your experience and are happy to speak with you so we can continue to progress. We send you a Merry Christmas and hopefully see you again in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant this week. We were a non local party of four. Making the reservation and follow up confirmation communication was very efficient. The restaurant has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and was very clean. The menu is quite small but there is something for everyone. Two of us had the turkey and the other two had the beef dish. The portions are small compared to some places but were spot on for us. We all enjoyed our meals. We ordered two additional vegetable dishes to share which was just the right amount. I loved the chocolate mousse! All the food was presented very well. The one member of waiting staff was very attentive and was able to offer details about dishes ordered. The length of time between our courses was good and at no time did we feel rushed.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tracyh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Manager at Restaurant Zest, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks Tracy for the review, Were delighted that you enjoyed the meal and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab Christmas party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table of 14 for Christmas party on 6th Dec. I requested gluten, egg and dairy free options. Matthew who answered my email was extremely helpful and offered me different options. I picked poached pear, walnut salad without blue cheese for starter, grilled salmon fillet with fresh kale, garlic crushed new potatoes and a tomato sauce for main course, fruit salad for dessert. The soup on arrival was delicious and full of flavour, all the courses were cooked to perfection and tasted superb. The service was excellent too, all staff were friendly, professional and helpful. We had a fabulous evening, thanks a lot to everyone who worked there! Will definitely recommend Zest and will go back again soon!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lixiang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Manager at Restaurant Zest, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks for the review, it's great that your allergy requirements were met and that you had a great time. We have added allergy symbols to the website and the menus to offer even greater service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cracking Christmas dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Christmas evening meals for large parties rarely come up to scratch, however the meal last night was excellent. We had a table of 16, including a guest requiring gluten free options and a couple of other "non standard requirements" from other guests. Everybody's needs we're met and nothing was to much hassle for the team at Zest. The food choices were excellent, the meals were to a high standard and I was definitely full up when I left! The soup on arrival was delicious and full of flavour, the starter was superb, the beef was tender and delicious and the sticky toffee pudding was scrumptious! I would recommend Zest for Christmas parties and want to pass on my thanks to the staff. Xxx

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara_saylavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart B, Manager at Restaurant Zest, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks Sara for the review, were delighted you had a great time and look forward to seeing you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Zest also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Restaurant Zest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing