We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and great staff service”
Review of Masa

Masa
Ranked #16 of 587 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Set in a beatifully converted Grade II listed chapel, Masa is one of the finest restaurants in the region. It is coveted by two AA rozettes. Bi-monthly changing menu is modern British. It is also a very popular venue for weddings and corporate functions. Masa is licensed for civil ceremonies and it is available for private hire.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
482 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Superb food and great staff service”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We took our niece to Masa for a celebration lunch after her graduation.

The food was superb and at £21 for three courses was very good value. Portion sizes were just right for lunchtime.

The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating of dietary requirements.

All in all a great experience, so well done and thank you to Masa, especially for the special "Congratulations" plate of treats to round off the meal.

It's just a shame we don't live near enough to Derby to be able to return regularly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donnyMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    97
    41
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of this world!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

From the moment we walked through the gate and up to this impressive beautiful building,we were greeted and treated like royalty,we were seated on the comfy sofas and our drinks orders taken promptly and professionally,the canapes were divine,my wine,excellent. Our table on the balcony was romantic,and gave an excellent view of the restaurant.Our starters,of the seafood and saffron terrine,and the chicken mousse,were so delicious,our mains of pork belly and beef cooked to perfection,with a good selection of fresh vegetables.we were well looked after while we were seated,and our glasses were kept nicely filled,we even had dessert,which was total heaven!lime tart, and creme brulee.we left sated and very impressed,a throughly memorable evening,and can't wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greedygirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We came here for New Years Eve,the service wasn't great,very slow in coming around with drinks,the food was very average,and cool,dried up beef,late arrival of the vegatables,wouldnt go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkic, Owner at Masa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Happy New Year to you all!

I was disappointed to read the above on Tripadvisor as the lady raised all those issues when I asked how their meal was after they finished their main courses. I apologised and offered them a complimentary bottle of wine, as they were almost out of wine. They politely declined and said they were drinking different things. I offered different drinks, but that they said they were fine. We were obviously very busy with diners at both levels, serving a 6 course menu plus canapes, amuse bouche etc. Their host who are regulars and lovely people seemed to be happy. When they came to pay their bill, I deducted £30 off their bill and they left happy. We even exchanged handshakes and kisses. Of course, the reviewer is entitled to tell others about her experience as well as telling us, but the review should provide a full account of events, both with positives as well as negatives.

We had a very successful New Year's Eve Party, serving over 100 guests. Service perhaps was not to our usual excellent standard at times, but the party atmosphere and fantastic 6 course meal meant that almost all left very happy. In fact, we received several thank you e-mails. As ever, we take on board all comments to improve.

Kind regards

Didar Dalkic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"A superb place for a works Christmas dinner!"”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Excellent restaurant! Superb food and service.
My colleagues and I work in the complaints department for a local company. They are notoriously hard to please and are not shy about letting you know what they think. So when I suggested booking Masa for the works Christmas dinner, I realised that I was setting myself up for a fall.
However, I needn't have worried. Paula and her husband did an excellent job. The food was superb and and the service relaxed and friendly.
The quality of the food bore no relation to the cost. In fact, I've spent considerably more at restaurants around the midlands for food nowhere near as good.
I got many "brownie points" for suggesting a place few had heard of but none will forget.
I had to make quite a few amendments to numbers as several people get struck down with the Xmas virus. But they coped with the nearly daily changes to the order with apparent ease.
When one of those missing was the boss, with the means of paying, it was no problem. We had arranged to call her at the end of the meal to make payment over the phone but the host declined. He very kindly suggested that he'd email the invoice on Monday (two days later). When the invoice arrived it was quite a bit cheaper than we were expecting. I queried it and was told that there was an error on the menu we'd been sent and it was cheaper than we'd been told!
First class hosting. For me it's the best restaurant in Derby. As has been suggested for some time, Darley's has been demoted.
Mike C

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeC1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely setting for a birthday meal”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We booked a table of 20 at Masa for a 30th birthday party x 3 at the beginning of December. The table was prebooked a couple of months before and all meals pre-ordered the week before we had the meal.

We picked off the Christmas menu and had a drinks package added on. The service was good - A glass of Fizz was handed round to all of our guests and we were asked if we were ready to all be seated after everyone had stood around having a chat and a catch up for 20 mins or so.

As with any large table, some guests couldnt remember what they had ordered - no problem with this as the restuarant had printed off a list of what everyone had ordered and had passed it down to us all before the meals arrived so that we would know when the food came out. Brilliant!

Our starters arrived - very nice. Food was excellent with no complaints from any of the guests. There didnt appear to be much of a wait between courses, although to be honest we were all talking so much and having a great time that i doubt we would have noticed. Wine was supplied on the table and the staff were topping up regularly. There were a few in our group that didnt drink wine and their drinks were substituted for something else with no quibble.

The main courses for everyone were excellent - i had the Turkey and it was beautiful! A lot of the party had the beef - for some it was a little on the pink side, although this was advertised on the menu as seared rump of beef and therefore is served pink so it was more a miscommunication with our guests than a problem with the restaurant.

The puddings were gorgeous- very happy guests!!

the 3 of us that had turned 30 were also present with a small cake and "Happy Birthday" which was decorated with chocolate sauce and looked lovely!

We had a small problem at the end with our coffees which did put a small dent into the great service we had so far received. The coffees took a long time to come out. part of the group were served, the other half kept waiting. Teas were served but no milk on the table. Then when the rest of the coffees did arrive they were cold. For a couple of our guests, this happened twice. However, after speaking to the manager, it was quickly rectified and when the bill arrived, the coffees had been deducted off with no mention from our group which was appreciated.


We were at the restaurant for over 3 hours which went extremely quickly and the food was fabulous. Service was good and it was very reassuring to eat somewhere where the management are on hand to oversee the day and deal with any problems. In our opinion, this is what makes the difference when going somewhere. We were given vouchers for all of the guests for money off a meal if we come back in January

Overall, a very good experience at Masa for all of my guests. We will be back in January!

highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaLou1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masa also viewed

 

Been to Masa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing