We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel? More like rooms above a bar.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Georgian House Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel? More like rooms above a bar.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Very poor. Wouldn't stay again & would advise others against it. Struggled to get noticed by staff on arrival as dragged suitcase into bar/reception. Eventually got directed to reception area. Unfriendly & unhelpful girl on desk pointed vaguely in direction of my room. All lights in the dingy building aside from the bar were switched off for some reason even though was evening, so struggled to find the way to the stairs & room. Was a hot day & radiators Were on in rooms. Tried to turn off but thermostat came off in my hand as was broken. Windows sealed shut & room stank of stale sweat. Bathroom had no ventilation & was damp. Asked to move rooms & a more friendly girl moved me to a room where the bathroom window opened, although others sealed shut & heating still on ( in June). One positive was a comfy bed. Wardrobe door held shut by a chair, light bulbs missing from both rooms, water not drinkable from taps, no basics in room such as a phone or hair dryer (did provide latter when asked). Could do with a spring clean as thick dust in corners. Breakfast ok but nothing to write home about. Not a short stroll to town either, rather a 5-10 min taxi ride. Has seen better days & needs attention. Won't be reconnecting to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kernow4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    21
    15
    7
See reviews for
17
30
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I live locally and would have frequented Mr Grundy's more often if it wasn't for the service and the awful awful food.

I am really writing this review in a hope that they will improve their food.

The food is expensive and really poor. We once had a jacket potato (the last time we ate there) that looked days old. It was yellow and had clearly been reheated int he microwave. The sandwiches / baguettes are overpriced especially if you want chips and equally could do with improved quality and presentation.

We met a couple on Sunday in the Five Lamps and when we asked where they had been, the said Mr Grundy's (Georgian House Hotel), in the same breath they said without prompting "we don't mind a drink there but we would never eat there as the food is terrible". Sadly an opinion that is shared by this reviewer and other people we know.

We would only use the beer garden now and even that is sporadic and the staff are just not as friendly as one would hope and seem quite shy and unwilling to engage the customers socially (a lesson they could learn from the Derby Brewing Company pubs).

If we want to eat we go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevBlackshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Not 5 star however I found it to be good local quality, an enjoyable stay, friendly staff & good value for money.Excellent bar & food, the on site parking is a god send, try getting an upgrade they have excellent suites facing Ashbourne Road

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade from the basic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidhWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Excellent location with a bar attached; second visit. It has gone down hill in the last 2 years. In desperate need of refurbishment and customer care. Electric assisted toilets that are noisy when flushed and woke us up. They do not cater for vegetarians and breakfast is very basic. Initially we were allocated room 4 and it is very small. Moved to room 10 which was a similar size room we had on a previous visit.

Room Tip: Room 10 is a good size and at the front of the hotel- has a 4 poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Half eaten biscuits in the room, the toilet is a macerator type and is disgusting and smells worse than a cat litter tray. No excuse for the dreadful hygeine. Desperately wished could change hotel. So bad would not even take a shower! Really really bad.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RamblingReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was my 1st time in Derby and will certainly be my last.
The hotel is horrible. The rooms are old fashioned and run down. It is in need of the hotel inspector to give it a refurbishment!!! I stayed in one of the four poster bed rooms the bathroom was like a box and the light stopped working when I was in the shower and it was pitch black. The carpet is dirty and nothing matches in the room. The bed linen was clean however the duvet was old and tatty. The toilet did not flush. I was staying with some other girls who were on the training course with me for work and the lock on there doors was broke so they couldn't lock there door at night.
The only good thing was that the location was good as it was a 2 minute walk for us to our training centre. The breakfast was not good cheap ingredients, juice was watery and the beans tasted sour and the toast was cold when it was brought out. We had an evening meal at night as we didn't want to go to far away I kept it safe with a jacket potato which was average.
I would never stay in this hotel again. It was creepy and like a haunted house.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASBD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I've stayed a couple of times in this hotel and it is generally pleasant and I like the decor matching the period of the building. I always stay in the larger four poster rooms and the beds are really comfortable with good linen and pillows. This time round I stayed in room 4 and I was disappointed that the room was not as clean as I would expect - the back of the toilet seat was not clean, the bathroom extractor fan was filthy and there was a left over tooth pick left on the bedside table!! The room kettle also did not work but I reported this on check out so hopefully that has been fixed.

The check in and out process is nice and quick and the breakfast is fine. I enjoy walking down the road to bars and restaurants so I havent tried the onsite bar / restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VFWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,720 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
473 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
424 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Derby Cricket Ground hotel
1.0 mi away
International Hotel
International Hotel
#27 of 29 in Derby
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgian House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian House Hotel

Property: The Georgian House Hotel
Address: 32-36 Ashbourne Road, Derby DE22 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Georgian House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 15 minute walk from Derby City Centre, this family-run 18th Century Hotel offers plenty of traditional appeal, a highly-regarded tavern and free Wi-Fi and parking.Infused with the atmosphere of a country style Hotel, this grade II listed building retains much of its original olde-worlde charm. Comfy sofas, wood panelling and open log-fires help to set the mood, whilst the friendly service and welcoming ambience ensures an enjoyable and relaxing stay for all guests.Each of the 17 en-suite guestrooms has been individually decorated and furnished in a style reflective of the building’s historic character. Rooms can be found on both the ground and first floor of the main building as well as within the adjoining cottage. All rooms include free Wi-Fi access, TV and complimentary tea & coffee making facilities. Single, Double, Twin and Family options are available and for those special occasions they also offer luxurious four poster rooms.The open fires and elegant surroundings of the restaurant make for an ideal place to enjoy delicious homemade food and delightfully fine wines. The Hotel is also home to Mr Grundy’s Tavern. Located on the famous ‘Derby Mile’ it is renowned for its dazzling array of real ales and is featured in the CAMRA ‘Good Beer Guide’. It also has one of the largest beer gardens in Derby, perfect for either a great night out or a lazy afternoon in the warmer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Georgian House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Georgian Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing