We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thornhill Lodge Guest House
Ranked #11 of 24 Derby B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Perfect location to meet a friend half way and go to a gig at the Assembly Rooms. Rooms were spacious and comfy and we made use of the handy kitchen to cook tea. Breakfast was lovely and we had extra toast and coffee. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhdwfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 87 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

As a regular business visitor to Derby, Thornhill Lodge is an absolute gem. Very quiet, comfortable and convenient for the center of Derby. There is a well fitted separate kitchen for guests use, a homemade rock cake on arrival and wide choice at breakfast, including a hearty Derbyshire fry up. Having found Thornhill Lodge, I would not stay anywhere else in Derby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We chose Thornhill Lodge because of the comments on Tripadvisor. The location is really good for the centre of Derby and access to the ring road. It is in a very quiet road and has plenty of parking, either in a small car park or on the road.It is within walking distance of both M&S Simply Food and a large Sainsburys.
The room was lovely and very spacious. It had twin beds and a sitting area with 2 armchairs and a large flat screen TV. The shower in the en suite was a good size. Guests have the use of a well fitted kitchen. This is great as simple meals can be cooked if people don't fancy eating out. Fresh fruit and milk were provided and a couple of packets of cereal.
The breakfast is generous. Orange juice, yogurt and fresh fruit salad to start, then a full Derbyshire breakfast and to follow toast and homemade preserves and fresh fruit.
We recommend everyone to look at the website. The owner, Rea, has made this a superb B&B. She showed us some of the other rooms and they are all beautifully and thoughtfully equipped. The B&B was the highlight of our 2 day stay in Derby.

Room Tip: The only thing to specify is double or twin because they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2pomsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rea1, Owner at Thornhill Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Thornhill and appreciate the lovely comments in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We needed somewhere to stay in Derby with our son and came across Thornhill Lodge. We could not have done better. The rooms were well appointed with lovely little touching like homemade rock cakes on arrival and jams at breakfast (damson really wonderful). A very comfortable night for both us and him.
We will be back and would recommend Thornhill Lodge to all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank continentaltourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rea1, Owner at Thornhill Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the damson jam which was made with fruit from our garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed one night at Thornhill Lodge and so glad we did. The room was very large compared to the usual hotel room and very nicely decorated. They had a lot of entertainment available and were very friendly. The breakfast in the morning was also fantastic as it was cooked to your request. All in all a great stay and a fantastic B&B. If you are in the area - I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AussieUKTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed for four nights and enjoyed our stay. The owners are very pleasant and helpful without being intrusive. The room and bathroom were very bright and clean. The beds were good and we slept well. The breakfast was very good and the breakfast room was clean and bright. The guest house is located in a quiet and safe neighbourhood and is about a 15 - 20 minute walk into town. It is also close to a bus route. There is a restaurant/pub a short walk away. It is obvious the owners put a lot of care and attention into making sure their guests enjoy their stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Good location for my purposes at local hospital. Off street parking. Comfortable and clean room. Good breakfast choices. Only tiny niggle was a weak shower with a blocked shower head. Otherwise all good!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rea1, Owner at Thornhill Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It was a pleasure to meet you. I do enjoy looking after customers individual needs.
I am glad that the location was convenient for your purposes at the Royal Derby Hospital.
I'm sorry that you had a problem with the shower. Thank you for bringing it to my attention - it has been replaced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
4.6 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,904 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Derby Cricket Ground hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhill Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Lodge Guest House

Address: Thornhill Lodge | Thornhill Road, Derby DE22 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Derby
Price Range: $47 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming recently refurbished guesthouse. Approximately one mile Derby City centre. ETB four star silver commendation. Spacious, individually styled rooms. Luxury en-suites. All rooms have large TV, CD/DVD player, radio alarm clock, tea & coffee facilities. Fully equipped kitchen exclusively for guests use (large supermarket five minutes walk). Choice of pubs and restaurants just a few minutes walk away. Public transport close by. Car park. A warm welcome awaits you at this friendly non-smoking guest house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing