We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need for a comfortable stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Derby West
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at this Premier Inn when attending a wedding nearby. We chose the Premier Inn because you know what you are getting. Comfortable spacious rooms, adequate facilities, conveniently close excellent quality place for breakfast and helpful staff. We would return

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie55_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 603 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

Awful, awful, awful, stay well clear. The beds were so uncomfortable and we had black moud on the bath area! There was ment to be gluten free bread in the restaurant for breakfast, surmise, surprise, there wasnt any and no one was bothered that i couldn't ave toast!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Derby West, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very very surprised! Stsyed in 4 different premier inn hotels in the past 10 months, all great this was the Worst premier inn I have ever stayed in! Three sleepless nights! Floor boards in room above creaked unbelievably loud! Bathroom dirty! Shower curtain smelled disgusting, could be smelt in the whole room!! AVOID!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on 16th April. The room was clean, comfortable and roomy for a family of four. Unfortunately that's where the good points end.

The walls were paper thin, so much so you could hear the switch for the lights being turned on in the next room. No sound insulation between floors, corridors, in fact no insulation anywhere.

We had a terrible night's sleep so if that's what you are after at a premier inn, don't stay at Derby West.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank themeparkersrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Derby West, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a relaxed stay in a comfortable environment and I apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here as a Easter Break arriving in the evening for dinner. The room was OK, not quite as good other premier inns we have stayed in. The Beefeater was disappointing, poor table, OK service and OK food. Nothing madly wrong but we have come to expect such excellent standards we felt this one let us down a bit. The room was too hot to sleep. Breakfast also a bit hit and miss, but when the food arrived it tasted good! We will be back to Premier Inn but not this one until it has had a refurb!!

Room Tip: As others have said, road noise was minimal but there was lots of noise from creaking footsteps in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonJClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Derby West, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed with my family for a short break to alton towers. Good location with pubs around offering lovely food and only half an hour to alton towers. Staff very friendly and helpful on reception. Sofa bed not very comfortable but was given an extra duvet to help.


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I overall had a nice stay in Derby West visiting Alton Towers with our 10 yr old & 6 yr old, we love to stay in a Premier inn.
First night check in very smooth and quick off to our room and slept very well. Breakfast in the morning is all you can eat and kids free, the hot cooked part of the breakfast you order,it is not help yourself but you can order as much as you want. Very Nice
That evening we ate in the bar as the restaurant was full. We ordered at 7.30pm starters came but then our main meal did not arrive until 8.45pm we had very tired children and one had fallen a sleep at the table. Very slow service.
On returning to our ground floor room at around 9.30pm our neighbours above were not as tired as us and what I can only describe as a child (I assume) running around the room until 10.30pm. At some point I got to sleep to be woken at 6.30pm by the noise again and when it woke my son I decided to complain. The reception staff were very nice and went to have a word but this made things worse. Our second nights sleep was not pleasant therefore premier inn true to their word refunded that evenings stay no problems.
I don't think I would stay at this Premier Inn again for the service in the bar & the rooms can be a little noisy if you have inconsiderate neighbours.
Premier Inn however is always my No 1 choice.

Room Tip: if you don't have small children that get up early ask for a room upstairs. Book your table for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne1480277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Derby Cricket Ground hotel
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Derby South Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
2.1 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#17 of 29 in Derby
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Derby West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby West

Address: Manor Road | Uttoxeter New Road, Derby DE22 3HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: $60 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derby West 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get your history hat on at nearby Kedleston Hall or get your kicks with a day trip to Alton Towers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Derby West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby West Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing