We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for short stay near friends , family and hospital.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Derby West
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good base for short stay near friends , family and hospital.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A satisfactory budget hotel near Derby Royal Hospital and our friends and family.
Would not recommend for long stay as site rather basic and no pleasant outlook.

Restaurant used on earlier trip and was pleasant and offers good value.













  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    149
    46
    16
    15
See reviews for
230
124
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tayport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Excelent hotel ,staff were really helpful and very friendly.room was really clean and decent size for a family room all beds really comfy.breakfast good deal,evening meals in beefeater next door not great value for money found pub down the road food much better value and food excelent .great base for Alton towers only about half hour drive away.All in all i would recommend
this hotel .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forbes339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was my first stay at a Premier Inn whilst visiting family and couldn't fault the service I received from the staff. Breakfast at the Mallard next door was excellent. It was a hot weekend and the drink machine in reception wasn't working one morning. The only down side is that it's opposite the new hospital so you get noise from ambulances arriving but I will be using them again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here again, this time the whole family - me, hubby and 2 daughters aged 13 and 15. Normally its only me and the girls which is 100% great. However with the hubby too the room is just too crowded. We really need a separate room (connecting of course) for the girls but Premier don't do this and wont let us book 2 rooms as 1 adult has to be in each one.

Bit of a pain really as no privacy and not enough space. Nowhere to just all sit and watch the tv either.

Breakfast still second to none - awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for a night before moving onto one of the Alton Towers hotels (only a 30-40 minute drive to Alton Towers) and I must say that we were pleasantly surprised.

The lady at reception was friendly and got us checked in quickly. The room was a fair size even with the extra beds and the cot that we had requested in it (the cot had a slightly lumpy matress but was nothing we couldn't sort. The room had all the usual ameneties such as tea/coffee, bit of storage and a flat screen TV with a surprising amount of channels. The beds were really comfortable and there is supposed to be a choice of different types of pillow but to be honest we could not tell the difference between them. Do not know if this was done because we had kids in the room but they had a little thing where if you found the rubber duck and took it to reception you got a little treat - didn't take our eldest one long to find the duck and they got a few little bags of sweets from the lady on reception.

Bathroom was OK, the shower was not what we would call a power shower (this may have just been a problem with the one in our room but it wasn't a real issue) and the hot water was REALLY hot but apart from that it was fine - liked the shower gel and hand wash depensers.

The car park is pay and display but you get a slip of paper from reception that means you get the parking from free during your stay. There is a Beefeater right next door but we did not use this.

It was on a weekend when we stayed and despite it seeming to be quite busy and considering the area it is in (near a main road and with a hospital right across the road) it was actually fairly quiet there.

To sum up it was actually a nice nights stay for the price and it made our stay at Alton Towers look crazily expensive (even though we had 50% off the Alton Towres stay) - maybe they need to take some tips from Premier Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toothypick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at Derby West before going to Alton Towers good price comfy room WIFI 30 minutes free only all hotels etc should offer free wifi, good breakfast all in all a good stay. About 40 minutes to Alton Towers but the price refleced the distance we had to travel.


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay63Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola E, Area Sales & Guest Relations at Premier Inn Derby West, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you again, our team appreciate feedback of all kinds as we look to continuously improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of premier inn's and most have had excellent staff! But this PI had the best staff so helpful and friendly, they couldn't do enough for you. The hotel is an older premises and shows its restrictions but for what we required and the price we paid it was perfect. Had a few drinks and 3 meals next door in the beefeater, breakfast was good, fish and chips were ok steak sandwich was a bit tough, but it's bar food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazmc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola E, Area Sales & Guest Relations at Premier Inn Derby West, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you again, our team appreciate feedback of all kinds as we look to continuously improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Derby East Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Derby West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby West

Property: Premier Inn Derby West
Address: Manor Road | Uttoxeter New Road, Derby DE22 3HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derby West 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get your history hat on at nearby Kedleston Hall or get your kicks with a day trip to Alton Towers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Derby West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby West Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing