We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 nights in June” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Derby West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Derby West
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“2 nights in June”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here again, this time the whole family - me, hubby and 2 daughters aged 13 and 15. Normally its only me and the girls which is 100% great. However with the hubby too the room is just too crowded. We really need a separate room (connecting of course) for the girls but Premier don't do this and wont let us book 2 rooms as 1 adult has to be in each one.

Bit of a pain really as no privacy and not enough space. Nowhere to just all sit and watch the tv either.

Breakfast still second to none - awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    146
    43
    15
    14
See reviews for
220
117
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for a night before moving onto one of the Alton Towers hotels (only a 30-40 minute drive to Alton Towers) and I must say that we were pleasantly surprised.

The lady at reception was friendly and got us checked in quickly. The room was a fair size even with the extra beds and the cot that we had requested in it (the cot had a slightly lumpy matress but was nothing we couldn't sort. The room had all the usual ameneties such as tea/coffee, bit of storage and a flat screen TV with a surprising amount of channels. The beds were really comfortable and there is supposed to be a choice of different types of pillow but to be honest we could not tell the difference between them. Do not know if this was done because we had kids in the room but they had a little thing where if you found the rubber duck and took it to reception you got a little treat - didn't take our eldest one long to find the duck and they got a few little bags of sweets from the lady on reception.

Bathroom was OK, the shower was not what we would call a power shower (this may have just been a problem with the one in our room but it wasn't a real issue) and the hot water was REALLY hot but apart from that it was fine - liked the shower gel and hand wash depensers.

The car park is pay and display but you get a slip of paper from reception that means you get the parking from free during your stay. There is a Beefeater right next door but we did not use this.

It was on a weekend when we stayed and despite it seeming to be quite busy and considering the area it is in (near a main road and with a hospital right across the road) it was actually fairly quiet there.

To sum up it was actually a nice nights stay for the price and it made our stay at Alton Towers look crazily expensive (even though we had 50% off the Alton Towres stay) - maybe they need to take some tips from Premier Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toothypick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at Derby West before going to Alton Towers good price comfy room WIFI 30 minutes free only all hotels etc should offer free wifi, good breakfast all in all a good stay. About 40 minutes to Alton Towers but the price refleced the distance we had to travel.


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jay63Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola E, Area Sales & Guest Relations at Premier Inn Derby West, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you again, our team appreciate feedback of all kinds as we look to continuously improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of premier inn's and most have had excellent staff! But this PI had the best staff so helpful and friendly, they couldn't do enough for you. The hotel is an older premises and shows its restrictions but for what we required and the price we paid it was perfect. Had a few drinks and 3 meals next door in the beefeater, breakfast was good, fish and chips were ok steak sandwich was a bit tough, but it's bar food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bazmc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola E, Area Sales & Guest Relations at Premier Inn Derby West, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you again, our team appreciate feedback of all kinds as we look to continuously improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is honestly my first ever review of anything however I feel this place deserves it. I must admit when my company said they were putting me up in a premier inn I was less then pleased however I'm not one to moan at free bed and board. Iv stayed in hotels all over the world however iv never come across staff as friendly as here, nothing is too much hassle and I mean nothing. Everyone I saw or spoke to was smiling and happy to help, I was also very impressed with the standard of the room considering the price. I also ate at the beefeater next door as I had a meal deal with the room and the staff were exactly the same, I would highly recommend this place and am now questioning the amounts iv previously allowed myself to spend at hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notts1862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola E, Area Sales & Guest Relations at Premier Inn Derby West, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you again, our team appreciate feedback of all kinds as we look to continuously improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Easy to find
Greeted with a friendly smile by the receptionist.
booked a family room for 4. room clean, crisp sheets. Just what you want. booked the breakfast at the beefeater next door. Again staff friendly and everything you expect .
so full marks from me. Have already booked an over night stay when we go back to Alton Towers

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellyio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola E, Area Sales & Guest Relations at Premier Inn Derby West, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you again, our team appreciate feedback of all kinds as we look to continuously improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed at the Premier Inn with a family of 4 on 29th May 2013 for one night. On arrival reception was very efficient. The room was very clean with the two extra beds, one a converted sofa bed and an additional temporary bed were already made up. There was enough space in the room and the bathroom was good. There were the correct amount of towels and cups with plenty of coffee/milk etc which having been to many Travelodges is a real bonus. The choice of pillows was a nice touch. Decided the attached Beefeater was a little expensive for dinner so went to one of the fast food outlets which are within a couple of miles. Breakfast next morning was first class with good service and range of food. Price was good as our two 15 year olds ate for free.
The location of this hotel is very good for Alton Towers etc. Difficult to fault Hotel for value for money and service

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola E, Area Sales & Guest Relations at Premier Inn Derby West, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you again, our team appreciate feedback of all kinds as we look to continuously improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Derby East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Derby West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby West

Property: Premier Inn Derby West
Address: Manor Road | Uttoxeter New Road, Derby DE22 3HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derby West 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get your history hat on at nearby Kedleston Hall or get your kicks with a day trip to Alton Towers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Derby West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby West Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing