We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but needs more”

Donington Collections
Ranked #6 of 95 things to do in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Donington Grand Prix Collection is, quite simply, the largest showcase of Grand Prix racing cars in the world and now also incorporates the Wheatcroft Military Collection in the first two halls. Four halls, with over 130 exhibits, illustrate the history of motorsport from the turn of the 20th Century, where visitors can get close to the cars driven by such famous names as Nuvolari, Mansell, Prost, Moss, Fangio and Stewart. Within the Donington Collections, the Grand Prix Collection houses the largest collection of McLaren and Williams racing cars in the world on public viewing (outside of their respective factories), and the only complete collection of Vanwalls in the world. In addition to the Grand Prix car collection, part of The Wheatcroft Collection has also gone on display at the world famous Donington Grand Prix Collection. The first hall has been transformed to hold part of the collection 'never seen before in public'. A number of World War II vehicles and motorcycles have arrived at the museum and more are expected to join these vehicles throughout the coming year. Kevin Wheatcroft, the collections founder, said "The time is right to open the doors to some of these treasures. I have been badgered for many years to show these vehicles to the public and very much look forward to adding more vehicles as each month goes by".
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you like the world of F1 and the like then this is worth a visit but I found it a bit dull. Like most museums just reading endless descriptions of the displays can get very boring. It would improve things greatly if there was video footage shown of the various events described.

Thank gary o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoningtonCollections, Marketing Executive at Donington Collections, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2016

Thank you for your feedback, we now have a mix of Military and Formula 1 collections with the museum. We regularly have updated exhibits approximately new exhibits come in and out every quarter and we have just undergone a refurbishment on the café and toilets. We also now have video footage around some of exhibits too. I think you will see a vast improvement since your visit back in 2013. We would love to see you return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"military vehicles"
in 44 reviews
"grand prix"
in 28 reviews
"racing cars"
in 29 reviews
"great collection"
in 17 reviews
"on display"
in 18 reviews
"petrol head"
in 9 reviews
"large collection"
in 8 reviews
"ayrton senna"
in 7 reviews
"sherman tank"
in 5 reviews
"red bull"
in 6 reviews
"amazing cars"
in 3 reviews
"family ticket"
in 6 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 19 reviews
"motor museum"
in 5 reviews
"car enthusiast"
in 3 reviews
"biggest collection"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop"
in 9 reviews
Filter

213 - 217 of 228 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Took our 5 year old today and a little apprehensive as the monster can be hard to please, admission fee was reasonable including a glossy magazine, 5 year old was free, as soon as we entered we knew everything was going to be fine as he couldnt believe his eyes.
I turned into a child myself as the exhibits were brilliant, very well laid out and you could almost touch them.
The seperate halls were impressive and written info was easy to take in and understand, we were free to go backwards and forwards as we pleased and stay in there as long as we wanted, the war collection was also good and a bit of an eye opener.
Parking was easy and free, toilets clean and we did use the adjacent cafe for a drink, £2.00 for a cup of tea which would be my only negative.
A great place to visit for a few hours, we took in the East Mids aeropark after which is just round the corner

Thank andy241070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoningtonCollections, Marketing Executive at Donington Collections, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2016

Hi Andy241070,

We appreciate your feedback and glad to hear you enjoyed the experience. The exhibits are always being updated, so its always worth a second visit. We have recently had many refurbishments so, stop by to have a look around the cafe if you get chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The museum itself is smallish. It has some great exhibits, both military and motor racing, but the only way in my view that it would be worth its current entrance fee is if you're a real enthusiast. There is a gift shop which is a wasted opportunity - selling secondhand extension cables - seriously? They should be selling Dents driving gloves, Triumph merchandise, Buco helmets and so much more! I did enjoy it, but overall I thought it was overpriced.

Thank neofuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoningtonCollections, Marketing Executive at Donington Collections, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2016

Hi Neofuser,

Glad to hear you enjoyed it, but sorry to learn you thought it was over priced. We review our prices annual and look at comparable museums as a benchmark in order to keep competitively priced within the industry. Ultimately pricing decisions are taken at director level. Since your visit the museum, café and shop has undergone a lot of development and if you are passing again it is definitely worth stopping by even to see the the refurbishments that have taken place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Took grandchildren as a surprise,Virgin special offer £16.Lots of racing cars from old to very recent.Plus artefacts from over the years.A plus is the war collection,Kids loved this as well.Nice area for picnic as is at the end of East Midlands Airport.

Thank livelifelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoningtonCollections, Marketing Executive at Donington Collections, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2016

Hi Technosimon,

glad you enjoyed your time with us, we have recently added new vehicles as well as had a full refurbishment of the cafe which now offers and excellent mention and very friendly hospitality. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

it's one of those places I'd been promising my self to visit but just hadn't got round to it, them my youngest grandson ( 6yrs) said he liked racing cars and a trip was planned. Arrived to helpful friendly staff, free parking and a small café for refreshments after your trip to or around the collection. you just can't get over how close you are to the cars, something for every petrol head. me and my grandson both had a great time, not rushed, you can go back and forth as much as you want. if you are into your racing cars it's a must. don't miss the tribute to the two greatest racing drivers that ever lived just outside in the grounds.

Thank bigger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoningtonCollections, Marketing Executive at Donington Collections, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2016

Hi Bigger01,

it's great to hear you had a good experience, and yes it is amazing you can get that close to the exhibits, close than pretty much any other museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donington Collections also viewed

 

Been to Donington Collections? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing