We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and fresh”

Moonsha Japanese Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #129 of 589 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $48
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty and fresh”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Lovely service , great food ,tasty ,fresh and aromatic !just what you would expect. Worth a visit could be great for a party or big group

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    69
    28
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expensive and not for me”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I love Chinese food and have had Japanese in the past which I enjoyed but I wasn't a big fan of Moonsha.

The restaurant was lovely and staff were good but the food was, for me, average. As ever, it can depend on what you have and I'm new to Japanese so perhaps I chose the wrong stuff but a lot of it seemed like lettuce leaves with salad cream and small pieces of cabbage dipped in something.

Might be worth another go but on first impressions, not great for me.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant In Derby, Great food and Experience”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I work at a nearby hotel and often visit with clients and have been personally too.

Moonsha is amazing!!! The staff are great, special mention to Kenny, Ricky, Rob and Simon.

The sushi is to die for and the Teppenyaki is great.

Without doubt the best restuarant in Derby definatley deserves a higher rating on here!! Amazing service and food!

Will be back soon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaireNotts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic night out, for a price!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

One of the best meals out we have had in a while, but wow it came at a price. It was £100 per couple which we feel is really rather expensive.

The waiter was simply fantastic, cocktails all round and happy to advise on what we should eat. We booked the teppanyaki table which was fantastic. I've eaten at a few teppanyaki restaurants and this is by far the best. It was wonderful that they actually get you up, behind the hot plate to juggle with eggs (only if you want to!!).

The food was wonderful, the entertainment was top class and the drinks were adventurous! (Try the wasabi cocktail if you dare!).

Well worth a visit, but maybe for a special occasion, rather than a "normal" evening out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vix_toria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Derby”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

One of my two fav restaurants in Derby - food was just amazing, I've ties Limes and Graze neither were that impressive.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank HaroonK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonsha Japanese Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Moonsha Japanese Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing