We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good day out was had by all”
Review of Calke Abbey

Calke Abbey
Ranked #1 of 81 things to do in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Historic great house, which has remained largely unchanged for most of the 20th century, features unique collections, a landscaped park and walled gardens.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A good day out was had by all”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is an old house that was "abandoned" and is now run by the National Trust. It is fascinating to see how the rooms were just left and closed off as the family couldn't afford to maintain the house. Went as a family and we all enjoyed it. Well worth asking those in the room for information, as we learnt a lot more that way. Cafe expensive for what it is - sandwiches don't have much filling. Hot food looked better but we only had cold food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank s30wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,057
    535
    97
    28
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AshbydelaZouch
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Variable customer service”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

As a National trust member, we regularly visit Calke Abbey, our nearest property.
Overall Calke Abbey is very good but variable customer service can leave a negative impression, for example some staff on the park gate can appear decidedly unfriendly. Unlike many other trust properties, Calke charges entry to the overall park (extra charges for the house and gardens) on a per person (not per car) basis which I feel may deter many visitors, in particular young families, which is a shame as children are the visitors and members of the future.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JWDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great place for everyone”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I spent a couple of very pleasant hours there. The house was particularly beautiful, a part was still in the condition originally found at takeover of the National Trust. Everything looked very authentic, like going back to in time. You can visit the cellars, the garden, the orangery (beautiful in its decay). You can spend a whole day there, to visit the deer park, the grotto, the park (there were loads of snowdrops). I'm not member of the Trust, I paid two pounds or so at entering the estate and a bit more than 9 pounds to enter the house, but it was worth every penny.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andreagulyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing Day!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just got back from a relaxing day at Calke Abbey. There is so much to explore and see that if you tried harder enough you could spend a whole day here.
The restuarant is a perfect place to enjoy a spot of lunch with its freshly homemade food and there is also a lovely gift shop.
As for the voluteers around the Abbey they are excellent source of information if there is something that you would like to know.
I like the fact the policy at the Abbey is repair not restore as the peeling wallpaper and the jumble of the furniture bring a real charm to this 'un-stately' home.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5Nikki5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Favourite place to visit”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We visit Calke Abbey several times a year and always thoroughly enjoy it. The house is an absolute must to wander round and is a time capsule in the same state it was taken over by the National Trust. The walled garden is beautiful and the kitchen garden and orchard always fascinating. Providing the weather's suitable we also enjoy a good ramble through the estate (suitable shoes advisable). Finished off with something to eat and drink in the restaurant a visit to Calke is a brilliant way to spend the day. By the way, it's also v. child-friendly particularly during school holidays.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calke Abbey also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Calke Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing