We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
International Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
47
80
71
45
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
80
71
45
74
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 317 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed for one night in this hotel and found the room decor to be both dated and in poor repair. After having moving from the hot chip fat smelling room above the kitchen that quickly became intolerable I was re-situated into a room that at least did not smell like a greasy spoon and although dated seemed a bit more hygienic and bearable. The hotels website and pictures portray rooms that are modern but don't be fooled. Both the rooms I had the displeasure of staying in were extremely dated with bathrooms that looked like they have been preserved from the 70's, they also both had carpets in the bathroom instead of tiles or vinyl.
The only thing that was worse than the rooms was the managers and managements attitude to the happiness of their guests. It is worth pointing out though that the service was slightly redeemed by the restaurant manager and receptionist who at least seemed to have a better attitude.
Breakfast was also good and could not be faulted.
Finally the hotel appears to be undergoing building work, so if you wish to conduct any kind of meeting there be aware there will be noise and some disruption.

Room Tip: Don't go for room 106 its above the kitchen and is not only hot but stinks of chip fat!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Occasionaltravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I booked two rooms last minute at this hotel £39 per room including breakfast. Reading the reviews after booking I became concerned that the rooms would be awful. I called the hotel to be informed that we in fact werd booked in to the refurbished rooms which are pictured on their website phew!!

On arrival the staff on reception were really friendly, the rooms were newly decorated to a high standard. Throughout the hotel you can see that they are upgrading and improving it. They are upgrading it to a high quality.

After a great night out around derby, we had comfy and quiet nights sleep in our room.

Breakfast was lovely, excellent service. Breakfast is ordered and served to you so unlike other buffet style hotels all food piping hot.

In summery this hotel is really lovely now and once they have finished the refurb I am pretty sure we wont get it at such a cheap price. The staff were all great, they couldnt do enough for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenmoore85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I booked this hotel last minute for a cheeky night out in Derby so I got it for a bargain of £35. I'm glad I didn't pay any more as I would have been furious, especially from seeing the lovely photos on their website. They've obviously done the facade, and some of the roooms up but neglected the rest.

The room we stayed in was really run down, old and the bathroom was awful. Bathroom suites should never some in tobacco orange with blue tiles, and why does anyone put carpet in a bathroom these days, eugh!

I really wish there was some kind of law which said that hotels have to put a photo of their crappest room so you know what the worst is that you can expect. As it was, it was cheap but I would have rather paid a little bit more and gone somewhere nicer!

Room Tip: Complain if you get a rubbish one
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VARogers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Paid £55 per person for the New Year's Eve dinner. Good value for money. However, the F&B Manager didn't provide the Champagne for toasting (was supposed to be given at 11.55pm before the countdown). He only poured for a few right after 12 midnight (after being "summoned" to do so). Otherwise, food was great!! Portion was good too. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MGUE_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Derby isn't exactly a tourist mecca so don't expect too much. However, the International was OK. We needed something urgently and it did the trick. Rooms were quite spacious and bathroom facilities were good. It's not really close to town, you wouldn't probably walk it, but it's only a short taxi ride. There is nothing of note around the hotels location either food wise or interest wise so treat it as a reasonably priced good hotel when you must stay in Derby. Staff were good and helpful. We didn't try the restaurant so no idea about that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seatouner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews