We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
International Hotel
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Cambs
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great New Year”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I booked the New Year package for a party of 8 and we had a thoroughly enjoyable time. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, the dinner was excellent and so was the party that followed. Breakfast was as good if not better than in the majority of 4/5 star hotels that I've stayed in. I would certainly come again and I especially would like to thank Christine for all her help in making it a brilliant stay for us all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LonghaulersCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntHot, Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thankyou very much for taking the time out to write about your experience at the International Hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your New Years Eve party and stay at the Hotel. I will pass this on to all staff involved in organising the event.

I hope to welcome you back again for the same event this year. In the meantime if there is anything else we can assist you with then please do not hesitate to contact the Sales Team.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    77
    63
    41
    66
See reviews for
43
92
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Ok, so it's becoming a habit sending in our review team to hotels to check them for all our followers and website partners. We followed this up online from a mixed review on Trip-Advisor and can say we are shocked to find most of the reviews are from the what seems to be the past.

This hotel is certainly one we would recommend for a short stay and we must stress that is has had some and is currently undergoing a renovation to improve it further. (If our room was anything to go by is going to be a nice 3* hotel) Suitable and welcoming for business users and families alike.

We checked into the hotel in the late afternoon and were given one of the 'New' rooms with a key card instead of a key despite not requesting a new room as we are aware not the whole hotel has been completed yet. The room was modern and very cozy although lacks character and individuality and maybe a few throw pillows and some bed colour.

The room was a little cold when we got there maybe put the heating on ready for the guest and close the windows...?
The rooms need hairdryers as there seems to be none which is slightly disappointing and it only has two ironing boards so it's a case of wait and see if you can get one which is a little bit disappointing to say the least.

The pictures on the website are different from the rooms however they are all done to the same standard from what we hear which is an improvement and we did like our room!

The Hotel also has it's own restaurant and bar in which you can taste somebar food and chef's specials for around £8.00pp and 3 course meals for £14 or just have a drink in the lounge if you want. We didn't eat at the hotel as we'd ate before however did get a few drinks. We didn't think it was the cheapest hotel we have been to but what hotel is cheap for drinks these days? Not an issue.

The reception staff were smart and very friendly which was good to see and the reception area very clean, The bar staff were prompt and friendly which made the evening a fun one with the service being great. There was also FREE WIFI available in the entire hotel but we didn't use it it's just good to see for business users alike.

The hotel isn't that far from the city center although it looks like it's miles to walk it's only ten/fifteen minutes away from the main shopping center Westfield!
It has it's own car-park which is looking very tired but not the worst carpark we have ever seen! From what we were told the parking is secure, private and monitored regularly by reception and I also saw one guy cleaning it which is good news!! There are also good transport links and taxi affiliation for the city so getting around is fantastic!

Overall we would recommend this hotel for people who need links to Derby in a convenient location close to Derby Royal Hospital and the City Center. This hotel fits the needs of business users.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room on booking. Call up direct to get a better deal... Ask to match online prices as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DexxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel at 2pm to be told we had suites offsite just at the side of the Hotel, i thought sounds promising,what a shock they weren't ready to say the were dated was an understatment we all thought we were in a 1970's film,the suites lol were dirty in disrepair as soon as we saw them we decided this was not the place for us,we found other accomadation nearer to the centre,we went back to see if they cleaned them up ant better well i must have high standards and these suites lol were no better also the outside lighting was broken we couldnt even see to open the door, went to reception to say we were checking out as the rooms were terrible also we had asked for two twin rooms we got a room with 1 double bed and 1 single ? this is classed as a twin? as you can read i would not recommend a stay here you would be waiting for someone to jump out of the shower,

Room Tip: not at this hotel dont be fooled by the pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trenthamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntHot, Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your feedback.

I am very disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your stay at the International Hotel. It is unfortunate that you were not happy with the rooms provided. These suites are actually a lot larger then the ones within the main hotel and as there were two of you sharing the room we thought they would be better suited. Our reservations manager always takes extra care when allocating rooms to ensure our guests are comfortable throughout there stay with us.

In regards to the housekeeping issues I will of course ensure this gets addressed but our team is very efficient in keeping with the high standards of cleanliness and hygiene.

Once again I am sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your individual expectations.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH YORKSHIRE
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Myself my wife and daughter stayed at the international hotel recently for two nights, we were staying in derby for my mothers funeral . The staff at this hotel were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast were the best I've ever had in a hotel , our room was modern with plenty of space and had everything we needed. They made a sad time very enjoyable. When ever I need to stay in derby again I will booking this hotel and recommending it to my friends. The hotel was being refurbished while we were there but this never interfered with our stay. Well done international

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JONNYKNOXVILLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntHot, Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to offer my sincere condolences for your loss.

I am glad to hear that despite the sad time you must be going through you enjoyed your stay at the International Hotel. As you rightly pointed out we are undergoing some refurbishment to the hotel and our aim is to do this without any disruption to our guests.

If there is anyway we can accommodate you in the future then please do not hesitate to contact us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the International Hotel.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

business trip at the local hospital-we found this close to the Royal Derby and to town. The place was excellent! great welcome and no problems with the booking, the 3 rooms we used were very comfortable, spacious and warm. Good sized TV's too- great cos the rugby was on!
But the real find was the food- fantastic! The best we've had through many trips in the UK and France. Very fresh and perfectly cooked, the portions were generous and there was plenty of choice. Next time we go to Derby there will be no other choice

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntHot, Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Doug,

Thankyou for your kind review of your stay at the International Hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our bedrooms suitable for your requirements. We endevour to ensure our customers are comfortable throughout there stay and it was a pleasure to accommodate you.

We are also glad to hear that you chose to dine in our onsite Thyme Restaurant, I will pass on your comments to our Chef who has had many years experience in the industry and perfected the menu through this experience.

If we can accommodate you again in the future or you simply wish to dine in our restaurant then please do not hesitate to contact us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The room was ok. A bit dated but everything worked.
Very annoying that we were not informed at time of booking that there was ongoing renovation work. Nothing mentioned on check in either.
Not until we got to the second floor did we realise, when the whole area had bulding materials scattered around and our room right beside it. We perhaps naively thought that we would be ok because the day after was a Sunday and we thought that nobody would be working. How wrong were we. 0830 and lots of banginjg and drilling. Not good. As yet no reply from the hotel.

Room Tip: Check if you will be affected by the renovation noise before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barlow832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntHot, Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thankyou for your feedback in regards to your stay at the International Hotel.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologies to you due to the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. As you have rightly pointed out we are undergoing a complete renovation of the hotel in order to improve the standard of our bedrooms. This should have been pointed out to you when making the booking and arriving at the hotel.

I will ensure from this point forward guests are informed about this when making a reservation.

I hope that you will be able to visit us again once our renovation work is complete.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and had a wonderful experience. The rooms are of a great standard and staff were very friendly. We also had a lovely meal in the onsite thyme restaurant which we will be returning to in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derby12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IntHot, Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thankyou for your valid feedback.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the International Hotel.

If we could be of any further assistance in the future then please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.0 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#15 of 29 in Derby
477 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Derby Cricket Ground hotel
0.8 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,751 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel

Property: International Hotel
Address: 288 Burton Road, Derby DE23 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both leisure and business guests are able to unwind in comfort at the International Hotel.There are 41 spacious guest rooms available with contemporary décor and bespoke layouts*. With convenient en-suite facilities and satellite television, extra consideration on your comfy stay is reflected in every room. Or you can upgrade to one of their two luxury Directors Rooms and unwind in a jacuzzi bath tub. A mixture of Single, Double, Twins, Family Bedrooms and Suites are also available. Essentials such as FREE WIFI, Tea and Coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, hair dryers and ironing facilities are all accessible within your room. Further additional requests can be placed with the 24 hour reception desk and Concierge Service.A peaceful night sleep is assured with snug bedding and tranquil surroundings, allowing you to feel rejuvenated for your day to come. In the morning make your way to the on-site Thyme Restaurant where a Full English or Continental breakfast awaits you.Why not have a look at what else the Thyme Restaurant has to offer, we serve a range of dishes from our new a La Carte menu 7 days a week. We are ideally located and situated just 10 minutes walking distance from Derby city centre, allowing you to explore the area at your convenience. Transport links to the M1, A52 and A38 are very easily accessible, with East Midlands Airport just a 25 minute drive and Derby Train Station approximately a 20 minute walk. Furthermore Westfield Derby shopping centre, Pride Park Football Stadium and bustling bars and clubs are just minutes away. * Please Note: all bedrooms vary in size, layout & decor. Room prices do vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing