We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly acceptable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
International Hotel
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Derby
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfectly acceptable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here for a few days and have to say that I had none of the troubles reported by previous guests. Fine, room furniture was a bit tatty, but everything was clean and decor was in good order. The only slghtly annoying thing was that the TV was not visible from the double bed, the room being an L-shape!

Breakfast was fine, served buffet style from 7am. The beds were comfortable as can be for a bed that is not your own and the staff were all helpful and polite. Didn't try the restauant so cannot comment.

For a few nights in Derby, this was perfectly acceptable and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_w77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    74
    56
    39
    64
See reviews for
40
85
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

I booked a twin room for my mother and I with wotif.com but I wish I had read these reviews before I did. There were many things way below standard - terrible uncomfortable beds with sticking out innersprings, no toilet roll holder, the shower dripping all night, a freezing bathroom, the disgusting state of the ceiling above the shower, noise from the room next door at 3am through the paper thin walls, wifi not working in the room at all thoug it was advertised etc. But the worst and most unacceptable incident of our stay was that at 9pm a man walked straight into our locked room with his luggage using a key card and number for our room that reception had given him. This complete breach of our privacy should never happen in any hotel, no matter the star rating. This hotel does not deserve the three stars it claims and I would strongly advise anyone considering this hotel to go elsewhere. Sleep in the car rather than brave this hotel! They get the one star for the heater working and the new tv.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Figgy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Derby hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

Found this hotel on the internet for 30 pouund a room and saw that the picture made the hotel look really nice. WRONGO, the rooms were nothing like the pictures, the walls were like paper and our light didn't work. When we asked for our light to be seen to the reply we got was "Well you'll have to bare with it and i'll see what I can do" After an hour we were told that there was nothing to do and to ask ffor money off our room when we checked out. Then we went for our 'free breakfast' only to find out that breakfast wasn't included with our room eventhough we were told it was. When we asked about this they yet again said there was nothing they could do about it. The service is terrible, one member of staff was incredibly rude and sarcastic and I would NEVER ever stay here ever again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgnorth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Spent the night at the International whilst on business in the Derby area. I was put on the top floor at the front of the hotel and lost count of the sirens wizzing by. After a long day i thought i would try the restraunt for my evening meal what a mistake. I went for the three course Table de hote what a mistake, the soup was cold, i ordered the 8oz rump steak which was tasteless not unlike some second rate supermarket steak. The steak was served with 2 small mushrooms, some vine tomatoes and what appeared to be frozen chips that had just passed the fryer (half were Uncooked in the middle). I got up for a shower and it was that hot you could not stand beneath it. As an ex fireman i am used to heat but i.ve usually had a hose to cool it. Whilst outside of the hotel i lost count of the number of guests arriving with take-aways but it was to late i had already eaten. The menu stated the meal was £16 for the three courses but when i checked out another £4 had been added. My wife and i spent £23 the same price as the International for 2 x 2 course meals the other week at the Fox of Shipley near Wolverhampton may i suggest the chef from the International tries it for both portion size and quality. Never again avoid the, International at all cost.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton Warwickshire Uk
Level Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Its cheap, its scruffy, the room was gloomy and dingy. The service at dinner was non existent - we were treated like pariahs when we went into the dining room - grudgingly given a very unconfortable table and then we became invisible. As we ordered pudding the staff suddenly understood that we were guests in ths hotel and the penny dropped. they thought we were public popped in for a meal. God help the public in Derby if they go in here.

Stay somehwere else!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenGlassGoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

I booked this hotel very late on my trip to Derby for a night out as I was advised it is in a good location which it was. I overheard the staff talking about giving me and my friend a larger room as some of the rooms were smaller? An immediate bonus without me having to squeeze into a small room, So no complaints there! The hotel was being given a refurbishment on one side when I arrived and I was told by the receptonist who checked me in so that didn't really cause me a problem although I could see work being done because things were being carried out the main entrance. The only downside was the dinner menu wasn't served until late and I did get a little hungry earlier in the day despite having a rather nice (For hotel breakfasts) fully cooked english breakfast in the morning. I was given the option for room service but didn't use this as the menu was a little over the top. (I would have liked to see beans on toast with no salad or something) overall my experience was good and I would stay here again.

All of the staff i met during my stay were very friendly.

Room Tip: The lower floors are warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

My partner and I stayed here as our christmas party was being held here, the party itself was alright it was a disco themed night and had an average meal, though some of the courses weren't cooked amazingly. The pudding however made up for that. However, the room itself was very dull and quite cramped and the bathroom needs updating. We had bright orange feautures for the bath sink and toilet which looked horrible and did not go with the mismatching carpet that was coming up all over the room. The lifts to the room were tiny and with tow people and tow bags in it was a very tight squeeze, i dread to think how people of a larger build would have felt in them. Overall not a great stay but did the job for a place for us to stay after a staff party but would choose somewhere else in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Georgian House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Victoria Park Hotel
Victoria Park Hotel
#28 of 29 in Derby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Derby West
Premier Inn Derby West
#13 of 29 in Derby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel

Property: International Hotel
Address: 288 Burton Road, Derby DE23 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both leisure and business guests are able to unwind in comfort at the International Hotel.There are 41 spacious guest rooms available with contemporary décor and bespoke layouts*. With convenient en-suite facilities and satellite television, extra consideration on your comfy stay is reflected in every room. Or you can upgrade to one of their two luxury Directors Rooms and unwind in a jacuzzi bath tub. A mixture of Single, Double, Twins, Family Bedrooms and Suites are also available. Essentials such as FREE WIFI, Tea and Coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, hair dryers and ironing facilities are all accessible within your room. Further additional requests can be placed with the 24 hour reception desk and Concierge Service.A peaceful night sleep is assured with snug bedding and tranquil surroundings, allowing you to feel rejuvenated for your day to come. In the morning make your way to the on-site Thyme Restaurant where a Full English or Continental breakfast awaits you.Why not have a look at what else the Thyme Restaurant has to offer, we serve a range of dishes from our new a La Carte menu 7 days a week. We are ideally located and situated just 10 minutes walking distance from Derby city centre, allowing you to explore the area at your convenience. Transport links to the M1, A52 and A38 are very easily accessible, with East Midlands Airport just a 25 minute drive and Derby Train Station approximately a 20 minute walk. Furthermore Westfield Derby shopping centre, Pride Park Football Stadium and bustling bars and clubs are just minutes away. * Please Note: all bedrooms vary in size, layout & decor. Room prices do vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing