We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Hallmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Inn
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hallmark Inn over the weekend on a last minute decison and found our stay enjoyable. There are a couple of points i would like to raise to the management team in regards to certain points of the stay and would be grateful if someone could email me to discuss. We didn't opt for breakfast as neither off us are breakfast people. Our room was clean and tidy, no noise even though the hotel is located by the train station. Overall a very good stay and well done to all the team for making it enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank for your review, I'm so pleased you had a good stay with us and I do hope we can welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 475 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Staying here whilst on training not a bad hotel plenty of restaurants close by breakfast is ok hot buffet style but also have fresh fruit n cereals on offer. Staff are friendly n helpful. Menu for antibo looks gud n meal size looks gud too

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thanks for your feedback, I do hope you will come and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Very reasonable price, basic but spotless room! Restaurant next door was great and provide room service which we weren't charged for :) breakfast was great can't fault it! The staff were very helpful will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraftyMoomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Wow what I can say 5 stars, I’m so pleased you had a great stay I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a basic hotel, reasonably priced, I would say it is mainly used by reps, very handy for the railway station.
Our room was ok nothing special but everywhere seemed clean. Breakfast was average.
There aren't any facilities in the hotel for evening meal but you can eat in the sister hotel 'hallmark hotel' across the road or there is a very good Italian restaurant next door.
We had used the hotel as a base as we were playing golf locally so on the first afternoon we asked the receptionist if we could store our clubs somewhere as we didn't want to leave them in the car, she did say there were cameras on the car park but as our clubs are worth over £2,000 and we can't hide them in the car we didn't feel happy doing that as it is a very public car park, anyway the receptionist was happy to put them behind reception, we did ask if she was sure and they wouldn't be in the way and she replied that they would be fine.
The next day we arrived back with them and again asked if they could be stored this time the duty manager was behind reception and he very rudely refused to store them, he said the night porter had tripped over them all night, his attitude was disgusting and we don't expect to be spoken to like that in front of other people. We have never had a problem in any other hotel as the staff are always willing to store them for us in reception or if there isn't room they will lock them in one if the conference rooms or an empty room not being used, as they are heavy it is a struggle to carry them along corridors to the room.
We had planned on eating in the sister hotel that evening but decided to go back to the Italian restaurant next door as we would rather give our custom to them where we are treated like human beings and not scum
So Craig you did a good job of spoiling what should have been a pleasant relaxing break, maybe a trip back to the charm school wouldn't be a bad idea

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thanks for your comments, Craig is one of our long standing team member and as such we do generally get great feedback about him and his attitude to guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed overnight while visiting out daughter. Very handy for Westfield Shopping. Also a female member of staff on reception on Saturday morning was very helpful & found us some information about an open day at Rolls Royce Heritage Centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank for posting your review, I'm pleased you had a good stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Used the hotel as we were having a night out in derby.. Asked for an ironing board which took them a while to find. No vending machines on site but a good basic room. House keeping were knocking on our door at 9am! No air con and no trouser press.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chunkfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thanks for your review, I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A recent 2 night weekend stay was very pleasant. Good location with local restaurants, train station, Pride Park, Westfield shopping and city centre attractions all within easy walking distance.
Free car parking on site a bonus, rooms clean and adequate, fairly standard sized for this type of hotel though might be a little stuffy and hot in summer without air con. Some traffic noise from busy street below when leaving windows open. Comfortable beds and bathroom with shower over bath, plenty of hot water, toiletries proved but taps stiff to operate in our room. Tea & coffee making facilities replenished daily, large LCD TV and hairdryer in room. Breakfasts good with plenty of choice, we found that they were cheaper if booked with reception the night before otherwise £9.95pp.
Ideal for visiting Derby and surrounding area especially if you are able to book at discounted room rates.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluefox47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and staff, we have a great hotel which we are justly proud of, I’m so please you had a good stay with us and hope we can welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
499 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Derby Cricket Ground hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn

Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SL, England (Formerly European Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: $49 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Derby has a super location in the centre of Derby, close to the Derby train station and just 15 minutes from the M1. The hotel has 87 comfortable bedrooms including 24 family bedrooms. The hotel would be happy to arrange restaurant reservations with their sister hotel Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, which is located across the road. Hallmark Inn Derby also has a flexible meeting room with capacity for up to 60 delegates, offers free Wi-Fi throughout their hotel and has BT Sport available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Derby
European Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing