We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for our Alton Towers weekend”
Review of Hallmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Inn
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Derby
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great base for our Alton Towers weekend”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for one night in a group of 9 girls on a visit to Alton Towers followed by a jolly up!

Rooms - well sized, very clean and comfortable. Modern TV's with lots of channels. Shower was not great but then I never raised this, I am sure it could have been addressed if I had.
Location - 20 minutes’ drive from alton towers, parked the cars easy enough and 5 minute taxi ride to the nightlife. Staff were very friendly and helpful in getting us taxis. Breakfast was limited but good enough.

Overall I would definitely recommend for a short budget break. Great value for what we paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starla8778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for a great review; I’m pleased you had a supper stay with us. We are well located for Alton Towers and loads of other things, Chatsworth House, Peak District national park to name but two. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    173
    105
    22
    31
See reviews for
60
154
21
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stopped here on the 17th October for a course at the Hallmark Hotel (across the road) on the following day. The hotel is a clean and tidy and the hotel reception staff were helpful and friendly during the check-in and check-out (apart from this I didn't really have much need to bother them).

Arrived at 5:30pm and after dumping my bags in the room, I disappeared out to explore Derby - only returning to the room at around 10pm. The room was clean and fairly comfortable, although the heating had been left on at full blast and I was forced to open the window to cool the room down. Unfortunately, passing traffic on Midland Road and revellers spilling out of the nerby pubs and restaurants made it a little noisy, hence the reason for suggesting that you ask for a room overlooking the car park at the back. I just popped some ear plugs in and managed to sleep fairly well (my colleague down the hall and also facing the front struggled to sleep).

Overall, a reasonable choice for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the back car park (not one facing Midland Road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BundukiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Great review and great pictures! Thanks for your review and your pictures, so pleased you had a good stay and I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. The noise from midland road isn’t normally to bad, I’m sorry if your colleague was disturbed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel many times, it is never disappointing,always clean & tidy and have never failed to get a good night's sleep. The breakfast was good and the hotel is well situated for town, restaurants and rail travel. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Stay at the opposite side to Antibo's
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for a great review; I’m so pleased you had a good stay with us on this and several other occasions. I am Looking forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Level Contributor
254 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Not the most luxurious however it's perfect for the unbelievably low price. We stayed here for one night after a visit to Alton towers and if I ever visited Derby again, I'd be more than willing to stay here. Free wifi, free parking and clean and tidy rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for a great review, we have a fabulous team at the hotel and I’m so glad they made you welcome. Its a great base for Alton Towers and a lot better value for money than hotel nearer, I do hope you’ll come back and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Couldn't ask more from staff, they were friendly, polite, helpful & professional. The double room was clean but lacked finishing touches. The bed was as unforgiving as one would expect in prison, room needed air conditioning so only option was to open the window sharing passing traffic noise & those under the influence screaming like banshees or hollering like a demented cowboy rounding up cattle. It didn't get any better inside with drunken, rowdy guests returning to their rooms at 3.20am.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnL1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for your review and your great comments about the team, I’m sorry you found the bed a little uncomfortable. We don’t have or advertise air con, we don’t normally find this a issue. I do hope we can welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have stayed similar hotels in the same street and this is better.
Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, good reasonably priced breakfast, what more can you want for the price.
Everything you could want from a 3* hotel room including a bath, hairdryer and tea making facilities. Handy for the station and centre.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for a great review, I’m so pleased you had a great stay with us. Please keep an eye on our website for some great offer-maybe come back and do some Xmas shopping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed at the hallmark inn. The rooms do need upgrading. We were on business and had several rooms in the hotel. The room was functional bed clean, bathroom clean, pillows very hard but the room did have a funny smell not sure if it was the carpet, sofa bed or something else but, we all had the same smell which is why I feel maybe rooms need refurbishment. The hotel was quiet and I did sleep well, breakfast was quite good and hot though eggs a little undercooked. Reasonable for a business trip

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank STMB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.0 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#15 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn

Property: Hallmark Inn
Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SL, England (Formerly European Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Derby has a super location in the centre of Derby, close to the Derby train station and just 15 minutes from the M1. The hotel has 87 comfortable bedrooms including 24 family bedrooms. The hotel would be happy to arrange restaurant reservations with their sister hotel Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, which is located across the road. Hallmark Inn Derby also has a flexible meeting room with capacity for up to 60 delegates, offers free Wi-Fi throughout their hotel and has BT Sport available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Derby
European Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing