We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average but adequate”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are looking for one night only and need to be in Derby, then The Stuart is fine. The bar and restaurant area are modernised and clean. The rest of the hotel is looking very tired. The rooms are small and dark, the ensuites are ok, all just need modernising. If you are concerned about spotlessness then you wouldnt be very happy. The linen etc are clean but the rooms are grubby and crockery is dirty.

Room Tip: all much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sijohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    276
    259
    176
    189
See reviews for
103
386
89
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Staff were rude. Kept us waiting to check in, telling us we had the wrong time, quite abruptly, when we were 15 minutes before check in time. Attended to other people first who were checking in who were obviously due at the same time as us. Room was a shoe box, with barely enough room to squeeze past the desk at the end of the bed. The shower was impossible to turn around in, essentially being the size of a normal stand up shower but cut in half. Generally tacky, not sure how it claims to be four stars.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanmascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartSales, Sales Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Firstly please accept my sincerest apologies if you felt that the staff were rude to you, I would be keen to know when you stayed in order that I may speak to the person responsible. We do have a variety of rooms at the hotel which all vary in size, and I would always encourage any guest to make us aware of any dissatisfaction regarding the rooms allocated to give us the opportunity to resolve any issues prior to departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Derby hotels

Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights but would not return. The first room we were given was tiny more like a cupboard! Reception changed it for us. Our second room was a much better size so ask to change if you are given the box room. The rooms are very noisy you hear people moving from both sides and above you! Most of the people staying were on business so not stag or hen party's making noise the air con unit outside rattled all night! The rooms are looking very tired with old TV's not even with freeview! Water was always hot and bed was comfortable so its not all bad. We didn't use the bar or resturant but both looked very nice. Location is the main selling point of the hotel. Station is 5 min walk away and the shops are the same. Football ground and cricket ground 5/10 min drive. Plenty of free parking is another bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotttommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartSales, Sales Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and for giving us some constructive feedback. These comments will be taken on board to assist us in making improvements with the services we offer to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
977 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had to stay here at short notice, owing to my usual hotel being full. At les than sixty quid, it will do; the room was clean but really small and close to the stairs so a bit noisy till 2300. But I got a good nights sleep. Breakfast does seem to take an age for a really straightforward offering.

Staff are a bit 'special' too.

Cannot fault it's location but it could do with a dose of modernisation. Did not eat here, for evening meal but the bar looked good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartSales, Sales Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, and I am pleased that overall you experienced a pleasant stay. Guests may request to be allocated rooms away from stairwells and doors so please let us know if this is a preference for you. Breakfast is all cooked fresh to order so at busier times there may be a slight delay on serving this to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Shabby room with broken aircon unit and our window wouldnt open so very hot, room was clean but we booked a superior and no way was it! toiletries and loo paper were cheap and nasty too. we asked for someone to look at air con unit but nobody came - however the staff were very good and the breakfast was lovely

Also there were parties in the banquet suite so it was very noisy in our room

we wouldnt stay again .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartSales, Sales Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I am sorry that the air conditioning unit was not attended to on your recent stay and that you were disturbed by the noise of an event at the hotel. We do try and allocate rooms away from the event suite when there is a party taking place at the hotel, however this is not always possible. I am pleased however that you were generally pleased with the service and enjoyed breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Meeting friends in Derby, they chose the hotel as it had a special offer. It wasn't amazingly cheap, as mentioned in some reviews, but it was very reasonable. It is very conveniently located for the Westfield Shopping Centre, the bus station and the railway station, and connecting routes if you're driving.
My room, on the ground floor, was fine temperature-wise, but theirs, on the first floor, was unbearably hot, even with the radiator turned off and the window open. The heat hit you as you opened the door that led onto their corridor; no idea why. My room overlooked (or was overlooked by) a car park. It wasn't the hotel's main car park (which was always very full - I couldn't always get in - and had VERY tight parking spaces) but what I assume was an overflow one; I parked in there twice. That also got very full and, at times, I could literally have leant out of my window and opened the car door for the driver who had parked there. This meant I was none too keen to have the curtains open, so it was always rather dark, particularly as they could have done with increasing the wattage on the lights.
It was incredibly noisy, being able to hear everything that was said in the corridors, every door shutting, and plumbing sounds from the next room. The rooms were a bit shabby, with large old TVs, no satellite or even Freeview channels, and the bathrooms were somewhat cramped. However, unlike for some other reviewers, the showers were fine in both rooms, powerful and controllable, and I had the best hairdryer I have ever had in a hotel, and in the most convenient place. The bed was lovely and comfortable and would have made for a good night's sleep were it not for the other guests - particularly the ones who appeared to arrive at about 4:30 am and then decided to have a conversation in the corridor outside the door.
In both rooms ethernet cables were provided for the internet connection, albeit they were very short so you HAD to sit at the desk for this. Ample tea and coffee was provided; even if the chambermaids were unable to get in to clean and replenish they left a note (in rather odd English!) for you to be able to pick up more, and also additional toiletries.
Didn't try the restaurant, which seemed a bit pricey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dithy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartSales, Sales Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and for giving us some constructive feedback. These comments will be taken on board to assist us in making improvements with the services we offer to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Rooms are good, very clean and smart BUT waiting over 40 minutes for a cooked breakfast is totally unacceptable.
This should not happen and has cost the hotel "points" as otherwise I would have given a better rating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandMandy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartSales, Sales Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Apologies for the delay in the service given at breakfast, I would be keen to know which date you stayed so that I may investigate what caused the delay, as this is not our normal levels of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#23 of 29 in Derby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#15 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Stuart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Stuart Hotel

Property: Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Address: 119 London Road, Derby DE1 2QR, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Stuart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel is in the heart of Derby city centre close to many restaurants and bars with easy access from the motorways and the peak district. The hotel has 100 bedrooms, stylish restaurant, hip bar, conference and banqueting facilities, free car parking and free internet access throughout the hotel. We have excellent food and beverage options for you from our cocktails and nibblets menus to our a la carte menus and 24 hour room service menus. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western The Stuart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing