We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner time”
Review of The Exeter Arms

The Exeter Arms
Ranked #31 of 582 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dinner time”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great food. Had the pig(British favorites) starter and I had the fish for dinner. Boyfriend had the fish and chips. Both were amazing. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    155
    41
    22
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“More than a pub”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Don't be fooled by the outside or the location in old Derby, behind that door hides a different world. Part of me doesn't want to share the delights of the Exeter however that would not be fair to the hardworking staff.

We booked, of course, it is a popular place so always best to check in advance they have tables.

We went on a Saturday night and there was a band on in the beer garden, yet inside you couldn't hear anything so need to shout to each other.

Staff amazing, friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

To the food, they say you eat with your eyes, so you are full on the amazing presentation. The chef understands the importance of presentation and has amazing ideas on how to present, try the cheese board. Flavoured butters in a delightful dish and a tasty homemade chutney. Living in Derby I like to see sage derby on a board and there it was. My other half goes on and on about how amazing the burger was, the best he has ever had. Great job folks, but we need to come back so he can talk about something else! I had the ham and eggs, so tasty and eggs cooked to perfection.

This is not a place for a quick meal, quick means precooked, frozen or microwaved this doesn't happen here hence why you wait. However everyone is friendly so you chat to your neighbours and time flies. If you want fresh local produce cooked and presented to a high standard then this is the place to go.

Will we go back? Of course Sunday lunch next to try those amazing yorkshire puds!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trixieinfinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great pub lunch”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

No wonder the Exeter is so popular - great choice of beer, interesting menu and good tasy food with generous portions. Only thing is, it gets so busy. We were there for lunch and struggled to get a table - it's definitely best to book!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Late lunch”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

As well as being a good old-fashioned pub with a great selection of real ale, the food is great and if you dine at 2pm as we did, you'll have no trouble finding a table. Be sure to check out 'the Cottage' at the back of the pub - it's as if you are sitting in someone's front room!

Helpful?
Thank Bloo242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not the most comfortable, but great food and drink!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Recently had dinner at the Exeter Arms on a trip to Derby, following the high rating on TripAdvisor and it didn't disappoint. The pub was very busy (always a good sign) so we had to sit in a smaller room to the right of the main door. This was quite cramped with small tables, hence the reference to comfort in the title. But the beer was good (I ended up trying both a bitter and the cider, due a a mic up at the bar (mine) which was a happy mistake in the end), and the food was fantastic. I had the Jacob's Ladder with beef literally falling off the bone, while my partner had the leek and onion tart which she said was delicious. We finished with Coffee doughnut and Treacle tart, again both really nice.

Don't be put off by the slightly run-down location, this is well worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_Bravo_987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Exeter Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Exeter Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing