We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Derby pub”
Review of The Exeter Arms

The Exeter Arms
Ranked #32 of 589 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great Derby pub”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

One of the many great pubs in the city of Derby just a couple of minutes from the market place and adjacent to other wonderful pubs

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    159
    44
    25
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Don't brand this a "gastropub". It is a great real ale pub serving really great food”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

As one of a group of 8 friends, grumpy old men to many, we have lunch in a wide variety of places around Derbyshire and Staffordshire. On this occasion two of us had a trial visit and our enthusiasm turned out to be shared with our friends upon our return. The ambiance and décor are those of a traditional English pub, warmth and character are at its heart. The Ales are good, often three from the Dancing Duck Brewery and Pedigree, all kept well. Now, the food - the menu is imaginative, well priced and offering good variety and is presented with imagination. 8 of us had at least two courses each, our choices tested the menu and all were very pleased with both our choices and the quality of the food. We had constant accompaniments of either Ales (between us we tried most) or gins and tonic. The staff is good, fun company, friendly and efficient and they greatly enhance the Exeter Arms experience. We all enjoyed our visit, felt it was great value for money and will return.
PS We are not really grumpy, in fact we spend most of our time laughing, either at each other or at the world!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BirthdayBoy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fine food & grand ales”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Been here a couple of times & is always great.
The food is fab & even the lite bites r of a good size. Ale is top notch.
The pub is run by an old punk rocker of some fame from the 1980's but do not let that put you off. The pubs is superbly furnished & always has a friendly atmosphere.
I would recommend getting a seat early on however as it gets very busy at lunch times - a victim of its own success.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJCollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NO PING MEALS HERE”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

After recommendation we decided to book a table here for our daughters birthday I was assured that it was lovely home cooked food. We weren't disappointed the roast beef Sunday lunch was delicious cooked to perfection with a variety of veg the braised red cabbage and cauliflower cheese very tasty. I have never seen yorkshires that big. The black pudding tempura was different and I would never have put the black currant compote with it. Another visit is now on the cards. Service top notch!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sazzyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lush”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We went when the beer festival was on and was very busy and had a great buss all around the place! It was a cosy pub and we was well looked after even thou it was busy with the beef festival!
The food was amazing and presented to top standed. We will be making a second trip as loved it that much!

Helpful?
Thank cockess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Exeter Arms also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Exeter Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing