We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local gem!”
Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
Ranked #42 of 587 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A fun & vibrant local pub in the heart of Littleover Village, Derby. The White Swan is a friendly community based pub that stocks a fantastic range of draught beers, lagers, ciders & fine wines. The White Swan is also renowned for its excellent food. Please see our menu page and come down to try us out.
Derby
Level Contributor
123 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Local gem!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Non formulaic, friendly, great food (all food cooked as you like it good value, above all a pub with warmth.
A changeable feast of specialist main dishes, steaks (if that's what you like) cooked to perfection at very reasonable prices.
As an aside for real ale drinkers, there is always a supply of excellently kept real ales from local and well known British brewers. A bottle of wine at a fraction of other places prices.Book early to ensure a place, as it is very popular!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Major C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Swan L, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Very kind of you sir. Thanks for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    38
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Friday tea, perfect way to end the week!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We visit the White Swan every Friday for tea. It's the perfect place to unwind after a week at work. The food is great, the portions are massive and the price is very reasonable . They have a wonderful compliment of staff who are friendly and welcoming . Sunday carvery also takes some beating. The pub has a lovely lively atmosphere and is a real hidden gem. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Swan L, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
And in return we have the best customers in Derby, very much including Lisa & Craig! They even help me with my fiddly menus! lol. Thanks for writing this guys. We want to be No.1 on Trip Advisor. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We visited the Swan about 6 months ago looking for an alternative to our usual dining place after a very bad experience there.We were amazed on our first visit at the quality,size and price of the meals and beautifully presented.We have not been anywhere else since!!! this is now the one and only place to dine when we go out. The staff, without exception,are the nicest and friendliest you could ever wish to meet,nothing is too much trouble.The White Swan as it says in my title is absolutely superb in every respect. Thanks for all you do on our every visit to make it so enjoyable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BIGDXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Swan L, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you very very much for your kind review. I am really happy you have a great experience at The White Swan and long may it continue. Thanks again for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This great little pub, in Littleover, is down a side street meaning it is not easy to find. It is not large but still has amble space to provide a nice dining experience. The food was excellent and really good value. They also have a good range of real ales to choose from as well as other beers / lagers. It is well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bfmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Swan L, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thanks for the review and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Mucky Duck is great”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My partner and I are moving to the area and have been to this pub a couple of times and today we tried the food, I ordered chilli con carne with chips, rice, garlic bread and side salad. He had fish and chips. The food came out quick and hot and in big portions. For around £7 each, the food is fabulous and very tasty. He couldnt finish his chips and I wrapped the garlic bread and took it away. Finish this off with friendly staff and a nice range in beers and will we be going back again. ABSOLUTELY. I am looking forward to trying the sunday dinner portions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Swan L, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Julie S, welcome to the neighbourhood. I am glad to be your 5* local. Thank you for taking the time to review us and I hope to see you Sunday. Carvery is from 12pm-4pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Swan also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing