We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hairy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Peter Pub

Blue Peter Pub
Ranked #294 of 575 Restaurants in Derby
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
1 review
“hairy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

we went there as on a sunday it was one kids meal is free with every adult, think they must have put the prices up though as it cost around the same price, on my carvery i got 2 small slices of meat. the carrots were dry and rubbery the peas were hard, not much choice in veg either, just the peas carrots caulflower cheese and leeks, no cabbage or anything, then to top it off i had a hair in my mash potato. we will not be going there again any time soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pip160905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    19
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We've tried many of the Midlands Crown Carveries and generally think they are excellent value for money - especially with the emailed special offers which are often available. We eat in them regularly- especially Bartlewood Lodge, Ockbrook. I'm afraid the Blue Peter comes at the very bottom of our favourites list however.
The place is still a local drinking pub and, as such, was filled with men (only) at the front. I took my week's Crown special offer voucher to the bar - but it took several staff members about 10 minutes and a phone call to find out how to enter it on the till. In the end I was given a handwritten note for the small carvery meal. We've never had that problem in any other Crwon Carvery.
The choice of non-alcoholic drinks was severely limited. In the end I asked for an orange without ice. The squash arrived with ice and was insipid to say the least.
I had handed my £1 car park redemption voucher over, but the staff member forgot, during the 10 minutes I stood at the bar, until I asked if it had been included in the final tally. It hadn't.
The decor and atmosphere in the eating areas - away from the drinking men at the front - were quite reasonable.
The meat portions were considerably smaller than other Crown carveries, roast potatoes almost hard, the mash lumpy and the sprouts undercooked. The Yorkshire pudding was so hard you almost needed a chisel. The other vegetables were just about passable, though not very hot.
I'm sorry but the Blue Peter lets the side down. We'll not be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best meal ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had a wonderful meal here last night . Food was piping hot with a great selection to choose from , best meal i have had in Derby to date . The staff were very kind , courtious and friendly . Definately will come back here on my next trip to Derby , highly recommend the carvery . Congratulations on management and staff .

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroleanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

called here while out shopping first of all cost a pound to park in the pub car park although refundable if you eat or drink in this establishment then although we seemed to be the only people eating at this time (2-o-clock) we could not get served had to go back to the bar and ask for service perhaps it would have been better if we had not bothered the food was cold and everything tasted the same"not impressed" although the carvery is cheap it is true in this case you get what you pay for.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“the food has been transformed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

i have been eating at this carvery for years but in the last 6 months the food has been transformed for the better. It is always hot and now has a wider choice and the staff are polite, friendly and helpful it also has a nice atmosphere

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mickey826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Peter Pub also viewed

Alvaston, Derby
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Blue Peter Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing