We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, welcoming staff”

Gurkha Paradise Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 582 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious food, welcoming staff”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I've eaten here several times, and the good is absolutely wonderful! Very flavoursome curries well cooked, not overly greasy as cheaper curry places are. Reasonably priced and some of the most welcoming staff ever. Highly recommend. On a previous occasion they have opened up on a day they are normally closed just for my birthday!

Helpful?
1 Thank Toby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    17
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality ingredients tell in the amazing flavours”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Friendly service and the food is awesome. We had family over from Denmark. There were over 20 of us and we were all impressed, all served together, all happy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Have had the pleasure of visiting Gurkha Paradise now on 3 occasions - twice to eat in and once for a takeaway. On all occasions the food has been excellent - Momo's and samosa's beautiful, the meat platter plentiful and cooked really well, and the curries are just fabulous........and I like my curries. Those sampled include Shagarmatha, Tama and Sag Kukhura. Nan breads are also fantastic. Friends have also eaten standard Indian fayre and say that this is exceptional as well........but I say why eat Indian in a Nepalese restaurant?

Add to this the exceptional service you get - the staff are always really friendly and take the time to come and chat with you regardless of how busy the restaurant is.....and it can get busy.

Overall, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jkofnottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smashing food”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited here a few weeks ago and were very very impressed so we decided to take some friends. The staff are brilliant really friendly and can't do enough for you. And as for the food it was probably one of the best curries I have ever had. Would recommend this restaurant!!!!!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Cannot be bettered”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This curry restaurant cannot be bettered in the Derby and Nottingham areas. The welcome is always genuine and warm and the food is superb. Disregard one or two reviews on here, which I suspect have been posted by jealous rivals.
The restaurant is comfortable and once inside, you will want to return again and again.
Michael, Nottingham.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mjcrolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Paradise Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gurkha Paradise Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing