We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food...”
Review of The Excelsior

The Excelsior
Ranked #62 of 589 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Over 140 dishes, you will be spoilt for choice! We offer a wide range of menus from around the Far East, including Chinese and Japanese dishes. From our popular crispy aromatic duck to our famous black pepper sirloin and fillet steaks, there is bound to be something to tempt your taste buds.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food...”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

... And even better service! This place is a real gem. The staff are the friendliest we've ever dealt with; the food is amazing - full of flavour and not your typical takeaway rubbish... A real find. Don't be out off by the exterior, the food and service more than make up for the outlook!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReadingProfessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    31
    14
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent.... people really don't no what there missing”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This restaurant has been around for years and is a favourite for all Derby people and also from different areas....food is so fabulous and the host is so lovely she makes you feel welcome and there's nothing to much trouble. I recommend this restaurant 100% as a few years ago you really wouldn't of been able to of got a table. The only reason is because that end of Derby town has gone dead with closures of nightclubs & taxi ranks... Seriously if you love a fab Chinese cuisine this place is a must.. you really won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twilight321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese I have ever had.”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

That title is no exageration. The staff are friendly and attentive and the food is just fantastic.
I came here about a week ago for the first time having walked passed it a few times in the past and it was so good I've already been back and can't wait to go again.

The crispy beef in chilli sauce is the best I've had anywhere, and never being a fan of sweet and sour chicken I thought I'd give my friends a try and miraculously it was my favourite dish. For starters we had crispy lamb with plum sauce and lettuce and it's really delicious idea and great start to a meal. Also had the satay chicken starter, duck in hoisin sauce main and the specail fried rice over the two visits and all were superb, I would reccomend all of them.


I've not yet gone to the buffet but am excited to try it out when I do. I think this resteraunt is going to become my regular chinese. A lovely atmosphere and truly magnifiecent food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Really nice atmosphere, friendly staff and really good fresh food. We have eaten at a lot of Chinese restaurants and this is up there with the best. Quite busy, glad we booked a table.

Helpful?
Thank Gavnav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice all you can eat”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Ive been here a couple of times and always found them to be friendly. Food is nice and with being an all you can eat, they're on to a winning formula.

Parking can be an issue with it being on a corner of a busy street.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Excelsior also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing