We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Pitcher & Piano - Derby
Ranked #64 of 587 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Heanor
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Only went for a drink and although a little pricey great atmosphere, staff friendly a lovely pub :-)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    37
    27
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,016 reviews
580 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Good beer and roof top seating”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Beers good. Seating better as watched the sun go down on the roof. Food looked ok as well. Locally brewed stuff seemed good value.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PadiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mum was very happy”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went to Pitcher and Piano in Derby for Mothering Sunday and we were all very pleased with our choice. I had pre-booked for myself, sister and mum and when we arrived we were greeted at the door and shown to our table which has a little poster typed up with our names and reservations on which was a nice touch. We were offered drinks straight away whilst looking through the menu.

We all had sunday lunch (2 for 1 as well!), it was lovely, plenty of food (we ate far too much, but still has room for pudding). We all really enjoyed the food, nothing to fault at all. Cocktails were also great, also on a 2 for 1 offer, we weren't rushed, the staff were friendly and helpful without being too over the top. The atmosphere was nice, when we went it was too busy and most people there were mums so it was nice and friendly.

All in all a really good meal and we would most defiantly be going back there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tillytot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food: Poor. Expensive. Late.”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch in a group of 7, with the rest of the bar almost empty, but still had to wait a very long time for lunch to be delivered, returning to work late. 3 of the (not inexpensive) meals were overcooked/burnt. Mine was one of the worst meals I've eaten out that I can remember, very dry and burnt with pulled pork like eating twigs. Suprising, since the Pitcher & Piano in Nottingham has always been great for food. Nice enough venue and frendly staff in Derby though - would return for drinks, but just not to eat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam H, Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Derby, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Steve,

Thank you for taking the time in telling us of your recent visit

I am sorry to hear about your poor experiance that you had, we do pride ourselves on the quality of our homemade food and the level of service that we offer, and we are sorry that we did not meet your expecatations. If you could contact us on 01332 206790 then will do our best to rectify this issue.

Kind Regards
Sam Higton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,660 reviews
951 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 922 helpful votes
“Still out of tune for me”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

(Last reveiwed 4 March) Recently refurbished but not quite sure what image it is supposed to give. Leather sofa's/chairs, chairs without backs, oldy worldy bits and modern bits, all a bit of a mish mash for me. The menu is a bit like the decoration a bit of everything, wraps, flatbreads, burgers, salads, grazers the list goes on, a smaller menu choice cooked/presented and with taste would be better. Obviously Pitcher & Piano know there target clientele and what they like as they seem to be a popular chain but I am not one of them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank johnhp702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitcher & Piano - Derby also viewed

 

Been to Pitcher & Piano - Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing