We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Pickford's House

Pickford's House
Ranked #4 of 81 things to do in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a townhouse in central Derby. You get a map over the house, and are then free to walk about, look at the interior (very Jane Austen-like) and stroll through the garden.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paresandefot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    75
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place of history”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Pickfords is a good place to learn about Georgian history in the Frigate quarter of Derby Was oringaly owned by joesph Pickford.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyABBAFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have visited this museum more than 5 times and enjoyed it everytime and have enjoyed it each time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PinPetchThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A wee gem!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Looking for something to do on a Sunday afternoon, we went to this museum. At first, we thought it was closed, as the main front door wouldn't open - that was because the entrance was round the side. Then we thought that was locked, too, but that was just because the 'push' (or was it 'pull'?) sign had worn off.
Once we gained entry, we were greeted by a couple of nice chaps, who made us feel at home and were also full of useful information.
The museum is quite small and mostly informally laid out. There's not too much information to take in, but enough to get an idea of the place's history.
We were there for about an hour and a half and enjoyed the visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We visited the house to see the Joseph Wright paintings but it has far more to offer than these with the Edwardian bathroom being a highlight for me. It will appeal to those who like the Geffrye Museum in London. Much bigger than one expects, arranged over several floors and with small gardens, too. Very nicely done. And very helpful and friendly staff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickford's House also viewed

 

Been to Pickford's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing