We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special hotel”
Review of Aston Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Court Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton,Northamptonshire, United Kingdomp
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very special hotel”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our stay was great from start to finish, the rooms were really nice, beds comfortable and great shower. The staff were so friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for us. The food was excellent and there was plenty if it. We will certainly be making a return visit, and would recommend it to our friends. Well done Smart Aston.

Room Tip: Have a ground floor if possible, there is a lift but can be a distance from some rooms and there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
What a pleasant review to read, thank you so much for your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    189
    83
    20
    9
See reviews for
43
188
36
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I was desperate to get to Chatsworth House; so when a Groupon voucher came up for £73 for two people for two nights including breakfast and afternoon tea it was a no-brainer.

The hotel itself is a little tired; there was a stain on your carpet in our room, the tea bags were not replenished and the hot buffet breakfast was not quite of hotel standard (we found it a bit sloppy & luke warm). However these were minor details when we had paid so little and we're using the hotel as a base to explore Derbyshire. The staff were fabulous; kind, warm and well informed, always happy to help, they made our stay really special. We played pool in the bar after dinner out on Friday night, which was in a fairly quiet bar.

Chatsworth is gorgeous and we'll worth the bus trip via the transpeak from Derby, changing at Matlock for the 218 bus (at the coop).

Mega bargain and great staff made it a comfortable stay with a nice firm bed, though do take ear plugs and an eye mask as the walls are a bit thin and the people next door were loud.

Thank you to the staff at the Aston Court for a fun and relaxed stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us, I am pleased you found the deal to be of excellent value and do hope you will return in the future. The staff do try their very best to help all guests make the most of their stay in Derby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had the most amazing two night stay.
We visited Royal crown Derby, Chatsworth.
Hotel was very clean and welcoming.
The rooms are light and airy, with the usual facilities, coffee, tea, TV .
Breakfasts were lovely, plenty on offer, for all diets.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your time, I am really pleased the hotel suited your requirements and that you had a pleasurable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Tried to find some history on the hotel but unsuccessful. Apparently, the hotel was one end and some sort of manor house at the other with shops in the middle. Over the years, the building has been amalgamated into the hotel that is here now. Stayed for a wedding party and loved the building. The staircase is at the reception end. This is where the wedding photo's are taken. It leads to the landings that are all different levels. We had to go down steps to the bed. Situated right opposite the railway station and a 5 minute walk from the shopping centre. Didn't have a meal here but was impressed with the wedding evening buffet. The suite easily held 150 guests and had a bar. Unfortunately when the couple booked, they didn't know England had their first game on so the disco was playing to itself after midnight. Breakfast was buffet, cooked and continental and had a decent choice.
Our room 208 was well appointed with tea/coffee but was right over the main entrance. With the football, a rock festival down the road, taxi's, station announcements and the beeping of the pedestrian crossing, it was a bit of a noisy night. But that's just one of those things.
Overall, a decent hotel, good sized carpark, good location and nice staff and food.
If you like quirky buildings, this is for you. There is even a resident fox that poses for snaps!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrandDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
I am really pleased you to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that the event you attended was a success, The staircase you mention is a big focal point with our customers, especially our brides as it makes for a wonderful photo opportunity. It is a very old building with a lot of character as you mention. I do hope we get to welcome you again in the future and maybe we will have some more history ourselves on the hotel to update you with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed one night booked a room online and cost me £40.00, was a double room with TV coffee/tea making etc and en suite bathroom. The staff are very helpful hotel very clean although not well decorated or maintained but for £40.00 what would you expect, great for a short stay if you are looking for value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave a comment regarding your recent stay with us, we are actually in the process of redecorating our bedrooms so I am presuming you were allocated a room which has not yet been started but hopefully in the future if you chose to return you will see a huge difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Booked this on an amazon deal tye day before we came away. Booking was easy, upon arrival receptionist was very helpful. Room was clean and well presented. Only downside it was a bit noisy there was some form of extractor fan that kept switching on every 10 mins. Breakfast was good if a little understocked on friday but ok. Didnt eat in the evening so cant comment on the evening meals.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Aston Court is a lovely, friendly hotel. We had a room on the first floor, which was a little noisy from passing traffic, although I am a light sleeper. When we stay again we will ask for a room at the back. Other than that, the room was newly refurbished, with tea and coffee facilities replenished daily, toiletries supplied and lovely fluffy white towels. Plenty of hot water and good shower. We had an afternoon tea which was beautifully served in the spacious lounge.

Plenty of choice at breakfast, hot and cold fare. Good selection of cereals, fruit and juices.

The staff were excellent - they couldn't do enough for us. A quiz was held on the Wednesday evening at a £1 a go including supper. Unfortunately we missed this because we had gone out for a meal, but we will make sure we ask about it next time.

Derby centre is an easy walk, especially along the river on a sunny morning.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back unless you are used to traffic noise or a heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretjmcwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Wow! What a wonderful review to read, I am glad you found our hotel, location etc to be so perfect for your needs. The quiz night is held in our lounge bar every other Wednesday so hopefully if you stay again you will be able to take part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#23 of 29 in Derby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Court Hotel

Property: Aston Court Hotel
Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Derby, the modern Smart Aston Court Hotel has every amenity for guests, whether for leisure, business or a celebration. We are conveniently located with the Westfield Shopping Centre and Derby Railway Station a brief walk away; local attractions include Alton Towers, Chatsworth House and Royal Crown Derby. Guests will enjoy our smart contemporary rooms with en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and LCD TVs with Free-view, and can relax in the extensive lounge before enjoying a meal in our onsite restaurant. If you are planning a wedding then look no further than the Smart Aston Court Hotel – we can help you with every aspect of your celebration. Unlike many venues, your can simply hire a function room at the Smart Aston Court Hotel and organise the catering yourselves, or you can let us look after you on your special day. We believe our business facilities are among the best in the Derby area with conference and meeting rooms catering from five to 150 people. Naturally we can provide all the services and equipment that a modern business needs for a successful event. The Smart Aston Court Hotel is also the perfect venue to celebrate a birthday, anniversary, Christmas or other special event. Whether you are in Derby for a relaxing weekend, looking for the perfect setting for a celebration or after a modern and efficient venue for a business meeting get in touch with us at the Smart Aston Court Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aston Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Aston
Aston Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing