We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aston Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Court Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
wirral
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Wow well done we have stayed here a few times last time was awful which we wrote to you about this time perfection beautiful room fabulous service fromvery pleasant man on reception to a wonderful breakfast will return again .

Room Tip: 206 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucym58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you, I am pleased that you chose to return and that you noticed an improvement on your previous stay with us. It is always good to get feedback and we appreciate the time you have taken to leave a comment. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and hopefully your stays can only get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    186
    79
    20
    9
See reviews for
42
188
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Groupon deal...2 nights including afternoon tea...we unfortunately didn't have the afternoon tea due to arriving late following a break down with the car...however was offered this the following day but we didn't mind missing out as gas plans to do Xmas shopping in Nottingham.
The location was excellent for getting around, across the road from Derby train station...perfect to go to Nottingham for the day (approx £7 each)
Check in was very quick and the staff were lovely and very helpful.
Free secure parking at the rear which was brilliant.
Rooms were great, clean, spacious and a fantastic powerful shower that I didn't want to get out of ;)
The breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice and all topped up constantly with very attentive staff....would definitely recommend a stay here and would return without hesitation :D

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodieC1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
I am really glad to read that you had a very pleasant stay and you found the hotel to be ideally located for your needs. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Enjoyed a 2 night groupon deal bed and breakfast with afternoon tea on one day. Staff very pleasant and helpful, and the food good. It is well located for shops etc. would recommend this venue for value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for the review after your recent stay with us, I am glad you found the deal to be of good value and that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

firstly id like to say the staff there were lovely especially MATT who went above and beyond with his cs skills .but on arrival we were told by receptionist we may have to wait because they were running behind because someone was on sick and they were short staffed ...not my problem . then the receptionist rang someone to go check what rooms were ready she came back and ran a list of rooms that were ready so we were allocated a room on the ground floor .. which had not been cleaned at all so off we went back to reception who then apologised and said you can have room 202 I know that's clean because no one stayed in it last night ermm hello you said we might have to wait because the rooms were`nt ready ! anyway we settled in nicely and it was a nice room double aspect windows with a pleasant view and nice bathroom but then we tried to put the heating on there was a radiator and a wall mounted heater neither of which worked and being December it was freezing so rang reception and the lovely matt came to bleed the radiator to no avail and the wall heater was broke so we were given the choice of a small blow heater or another room so off we went again having to repack our luggage again third time lucky ? this room 207 was at the back of the hotel and looking over the roof tops of the hotel with cigarette ends shrewn all over the roof . there was peeling wallpaper and spill marks on the walls and dust and spill marks on the skirting boards dust on the bedside lamps and empty sauce packets in the drawer and ripped net curtain .the shower was scalding hot and I had to jump out because it went from a nice hot shower to boiling in a second. and when I booked it I was told we would get either and afternoon tea or complimentary glass of wine but we were`nt offered these when we got there and I was a bit disappointed as it was a treat for my partners birthday but apart from all that this is a friendly hotel in a good location for the train and bus station .five minute walk to town centre and breakfast was lovely . I think this hotel is lacking the finishing touch`s and care that with a little thought could turn what is a basic borderline three star into an impressive four star get rid of the peeling wallpaper fix the heating and get some cleaners and an housekeeper in who actually want to work sorry but that's my honest opinion but apart from that had a lovely time in derby and am a regular visiter to this city I have recently stayed at the jury`s in which is also a three star and it was immaculate and ive also stayed at the derby riverlights which is lovely but all in all yes I would return to the smart aston court but would like a warm clean room

Room Tip: rooms with an even number are on the front odd numbers on the back no view at the back but street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suntannedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review of your stay with us in December. I am sorry you experienced the issues mentioned, I can tell you the heating in your first room is being resolved by our maintenance man as I write this. Also Room 207 is in the next block of 5 rooms to be refurbished, this will be completed in the next 4-6 weeks. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave feedback and I do hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just back from staying at this hotel for 2 nights............... no negatives :))

Very nice lounge/ bar area. We had afternoon tea, which was lovely.

We also had dinner in restaurant on one evening, surprised to have resturant to ourselves.

Spotlessly clean, especially en suite bathroom.
Delightful, helpful, friendly & polite staff.
Food good & served with grace.

We enjoyed our stay there, if there was one niggle, it would be - bedroom could do with triple glazing, as noise from road was loud, I could hear conversations & we were on 1st floor.
Can't deny people celebrating on a saturday night though............. unfortunately taxi rank was near our room:(
As it was so close to station, expected to hear trains, but didn't, just people!
We wouldn't hesitate to stay again, but perhaps in quieter room

Really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SvyYorkshire_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us, I am glad you enjoyed your time here and that the Saturday Night Party People did not upset your night to much. Unfortunately it is Christmas Party Season now and the area around the hotel can get very busy. Hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed for one night and I was so pleased with the very pleasant welcoming staff, I had a fabulous complimentary tea of sandwiches, warm scones and a pot of tea which was a very welcome surprise.
My room was warm and comfortable and I had a fabulous nights sleep followed by a delicious full English breakfast in the morning.
This hotel is well placed for the fabulous shopping centre WESTFIELDS with no roads to cross. Its easy to get to by car and it has its own large gated carpark which was a relief for me,
Its also next door to the train station.
I would highly recommend this hotel and I will certainly be staying here again.
Very happy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Well I would just like to say what a wonderful delight it was to read such a pleasant, positive review of your stay with us and I am very pleased to read that you will be back to visit us in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Arrived not expecting much as it was do reasonable, pleasantly surprised!! Good hotel, friendly staff and a lovely breakfast.

My only criticism would be the mattresses, could feel every spring, so maybe an update or some toppers would be helpful.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KatDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, in reference to the comment regarding the mattresses we are working on the rooms gradually and replacing these so hopefully if you do get the chance to return in the future you will notice a difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#22 of 29 in Derby
409 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Court Hotel

Property: Aston Court Hotel
Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Derby, the modern Smart Aston Court Hotel has every amenity for guests, whether for leisure, business or a celebration. We are conveniently located with the Westfield Shopping Centre and Derby Railway Station a brief walk away; local attractions include Alton Towers, Chatsworth House and Royal Crown Derby. Guests will enjoy our smart contemporary rooms with en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and LCD TVs with Free-view, and can relax in the extensive lounge before enjoying a meal in our onsite restaurant. If you are planning a wedding then look no further than the Smart Aston Court Hotel – we can help you with every aspect of your celebration. Unlike many venues, your can simply hire a function room at the Smart Aston Court Hotel and organise the catering yourselves, or you can let us look after you on your special day. We believe our business facilities are among the best in the Derby area with conference and meeting rooms catering from five to 150 people. Naturally we can provide all the services and equipment that a modern business needs for a successful event. The Smart Aston Court Hotel is also the perfect venue to celebrate a birthday, anniversary, Christmas or other special event. Whether you are in Derby for a relaxing weekend, looking for the perfect setting for a celebration or after a modern and efficient venue for a business meeting get in touch with us at the Smart Aston Court Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Aston
Aston Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing