We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short walk from the city - Great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aston Court Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Short walk from the city - Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We purchased the Wowcher deal and it was fantastic value for money. The room itself was quite small but well looked after with everything you could need. The staff were very helpful and went out their way to make you feel welcome. The breakfast was great and the location perfect for access to the centre.

Overall we had a great time and if we were to visit Derby again this hotel would be our first choice.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are above a crossing that you can hear sound quite often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigaile G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback from your stay with us, it is good for staff moral to read such nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    185
    76
    20
    9
See reviews for
40
186
36
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scarborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and i stayed at the Smart Aston Court for two nights, and was highly satisfied with everything.The room was clean and of good size and all the staff were pleasant and helpful we shall will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I am glad you and your husband enjoyed your stay at the hotel and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I booked this as a stopover between Llandudno and Scarborough ,what a little gem it turned out to be ,we would highly recommend you take the opportunity to stay here if your in derby, spotlessly clean,superb food , we had the afternoon cream tea it was delicious the best thing about the. Hotel are undoubtedly the staff, nothing is to much trouble their service is first class ,they even phoned me up to tell me we had left our car window open whilst we were shopping in the nearby Westfield shopping centre(which is well worth a visit to) I only hope the Britannia Grand in Scarborough can match the excellent service we have had

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnescouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
What can I say, this is a wonderful review to read and my staff should be very proud. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from a weekend with my 12yo daughter. We went on a wowcher deal, and were definitely wowed! Don't expect fabulous views, but, with fab views, you tend to be miles from anywhere (!) and the Smart Aston Court is wonderfully centrally located. The hotel is a lovely surprise when you enter. It has a real 'cared for' feel. Immaculately clean, well appointed. The staff are so friendly and helpful- they all seem happy to be there, and will really go out of their way for you. We arrived an hour late for our pre-paid afternoon tea, but this was no problem at all. We were even asked what time would suit us, and were served a delicious and beautifully presented tea in the lounge. We had a twin en suite room, that was small, but immaculately clean. Plenty of tea and coffee, lovely crisp white bedding. For such a central location, the hotel has made a real effort with the outside area, and we sat outside with our cups of tea in the morning. The restaurant is excellent, breakfast superb, lots of choice, and even though we were one of the last arriving for breakfast, no sense at all of being hurried. In fact, very attentive and friendly service- I was served fresh tea and toast at the table, and told ' if there is anything else you want, anything at all, please do not hesitate to ask' . I chatted with the staff, telling them myself and my daughter had never been to Derby, and they were so helpful, suggesting places we might like to go, helping with directions. In all, a well-kept and cared for hotel, with staff who are happy in their work and really welcoming- we will definitely return there, as will the other guests we chatted to :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunty76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Aston Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of your stay with us, it is a pleasure to read. I am glad you and your daughter got to spend quality time together exploring what Derby has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last night, having read reviews of a few hotels near it. Our room was clean, we checked in at 1am and there was a night porter to check you on. Great shower. Only slight problem is our room was on the side of the busy main road and we couldn't shut the window. However, we were so tired, it didn't keep us awake. I would recommend

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204. Request a room away from the road if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiru W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked with an Amazon local voucher and were amazed at the standard of the Hotel. The rooms were clean and certainly adequate for our short stay. Breakfast and the afternoon tea on arrival was excellent but most of all the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff was outstanding. Will stay again for a short break and would certainly recommend the Hotel. However next time we will book the tour of the Royal Derby factory (5 mins walk from the Hotel) in advance - really disappointed it was full and we couldn't be accommodated on the tour the day we went.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues there are steps to the rooms on the 2nd floor - even though they have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOANandROS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights , two rooms , four friends had a great time , afternoon tea on arrival The rooms were simply furnished and comfortable the staff couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating. Have stayed in many hotels and never come across such a great team they were all helpful and happy to help, they certainly enhanced our stay in Derby. The breakfasts were lovely and plentiful and many nearby restaurants offering a wide range of cuisine

Room Tip: Room 320 is above a pelican crossing so if you feel this may disturb you avoid this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheadleMungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#20 of 29 in Derby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
0.2 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Court Hotel

Property: Aston Court Hotel
Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Derby, the modern Smart Aston Court Hotel has every amenity for guests, whether for leisure, business or a celebration. We are conveniently located with the Westfield Shopping Centre and Derby Railway Station a brief walk away; local attractions include Alton Towers, Chatsworth House and Royal Crown Derby. Guests will enjoy our smart contemporary rooms with en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and LCD TVs with Free-view, and can relax in the extensive lounge before enjoying a meal in our onsite restaurant. If you are planning a wedding then look no further than the Smart Aston Court Hotel – we can help you with every aspect of your celebration. Unlike many venues, your can simply hire a function room at the Smart Aston Court Hotel and organise the catering yourselves, or you can let us look after you on your special day. We believe our business facilities are among the best in the Derby area with conference and meeting rooms catering from five to 150 people. Naturally we can provide all the services and equipment that a modern business needs for a successful event. The Smart Aston Court Hotel is also the perfect venue to celebrate a birthday, anniversary, Christmas or other special event. Whether you are in Derby for a relaxing weekend, looking for the perfect setting for a celebration or after a modern and efficient venue for a business meeting get in touch with us at the Smart Aston Court Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Aston Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Aston
Aston Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing