We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice break”
Review of Aston Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Court Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice break”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

recently stopped here on a KGB deal. Hotel was surprisingly very nice, staff were very helpful & hotel was lovely & warm.
We ate in both nights as all local pubs don't do food, but if your don't mind bit of a walk on the night you can get to Derby town centre.
We had one small grumble while we were there. There was a problem with the hot water so for both the mornings we were they I had to wash my hair in cold water over the bath. The hotel said the 1st morning that it was because everyone was using the water, 2nd morning I just put up with it. When we mentioned it at check-out we where told there was a problem & due to be fixed a couple of days later. Just thought it would have been nice to have been informed about this.
Apart from that small issue the hotel is very clean, staff could not be more helpful. Food portions were big & as braekfast is a buffet then you can eat as much as you want. Great place if you want to stop near Westfield Derby for shopping.
If the deal came round again we could be tempted back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egypt_AddictMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    190
    89
    20
    9
See reviews for
44
191
36
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Too Small rooms , not clean at all!!!! Need renovation urgently!!! Staffs were ok !!! Breakfast was terrible with duty flatware !!! Good location , close to train station . Definatly never return !!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Shabby room with paint stains on wallpaper opposite the bed. The brass plate around the bathroom light switch was covered in greasy finger prints. First morning no hot water. Had to boil the kettle to shave. Reported this and cleanliness problems to reception as well as the fact that the electric towel rail didn't work. Came in late and went to bed. Second morning no hot water. Noted on Trip Advisor that the same things were reported by guests earlier this month. Same room? Complained bitterly at reception and they eventually admitted that they knew of the problems before we arrived. So why put us in that room? Bed hard. No mattress cover and wafer thin pillows. Never going back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roystonc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral, merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The room was basic but had everything you needed for a few days. Unfortunately no hot water for a shower in the evening, so cold shower had to do. Breakfast - had to ask for items to be replaced and nuisance having to lift lids of each item with limited space to put your plate. Not given enough toast. All that said it wasn't all bad, comfortable stay and would stay there again, lovely staircase and clean enough. Great location to the city, lots of bars within walking distance if don't want to walk into the centre. Could recommend the crown n cushion - lovely landlord he is a harold bishop look-alike - go see him.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyfrankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Good location, within walking distance of city centre, virtually next door to the train station.

Car parking free and secure. From the train station, after passing the front of the hotel, turn left down Park Street. The first time, you have to get out of the car and ring the buzzer. But after that, think they have a surveillance camera that allows reception to recognise your car. Exit is via same, this time a pressure pad under the road opens the gates. Plenty of space, although the second time I came back, the gates did seem to have a mind of their own. After I'd parked up, they were still opening and closing.

Reception reached via outside seating area for smokers, past the gym room, through the pool/telly room, past the bar, then restaurant and there it was. Very quick, efficient and friendly with good directions to the room.

Lift was a bit small, but sufficient, although there was a bit of negotiating a few steps, both in getting to reception and to the room. Not really an issue, but if you've a suitcase on wheels, expect to do some lifting.

I normally do chain hotels, so this was a bit of a departure. Spent about 30 seconds working out key card, my own fault. Normally, there's a slot of some sort but with this one you just hold it against the black area at the top of the door handle. Upon opening door, there was an entrance where the wardrobe is in a little alcove directly in front of you. To the left, the bedroom, with the bathroom up a step in the upper right corner.

Not a great deal of space around the bed, but there was a desk with a couple of club chairs, which was welcome.

Lovely big flat-screen tv, an iron and ironing-board, a trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities. Unusually, a clock radio was included, not something you find these days, thank you. So, a well specced room for this sort of price (£44). The bathroom was a good size, just a shower, no bath but that was ok.

The room was at the back of the hotel, so the view not great, but at least you could open the upper window pretty much all the way. And it was very clean, the bed nice and firm, although the pillows didn't offer any support at all. There were some interesting purple stains on the wallpaper and the shower tiles were showing some mould but nothing off-putting.

The hotel does have a few function suites, but there didn't seem to be any going on whilst staying there. Heard a few 'plumbing' sounds, but nothing intrusive and had a really good nights sleep. Not sure if you had a room facing on to the front, but would imagine fairly good, as the rooms are double-glazed.

And, free wi-fi that worked on my phone and laptop, with decent speed!! Well done this hotel!!

But, guess what, it was all let down in the morning when I went for my shower. I turned it on and gave it a bit of time to warm up whilst doing my teeth. And it didn't. So turned the temperature to max and still no heat. I suppose I shouldn't have been surprised - there are a couple of dials underneath the bathroom light for the towel rail and, even switched on and turned-up to the max, the towel rail was still cold. I did play with it, given the shower head was leaking more water down the hose than sending through the head, but all to naught. Then, I held on to my faith and gave it another go at 8am and heat! So, jumped in and got lathered up and the water went cold.......and stayed cold. Just the way you want to start the day. I'm sorry, a hotel that can't give a hot shower at 8am is not worth staying at, it's such a basic pre-requisite.

I wanted so much to give this hotel a decent score as so much was good about it. Not least the outside seating area, where there's a small water feature, and on the wall above it a sign saying 'beware, shallow water'. That did make me smile. Oh, and the stairs, with the balustrade were great.

But I simply can't give a decent score to a hotel that can't offer a hot shower in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We wanted to go to Alton towers by train, after reading reviews for Derby and Stoke chose this hotel and a good choice it proved to be with the hotel being directly across from the station, the daily theme park bus leaving from just around the corner and the Westfield centre an easy 5 minute walk.
The hotel staff were welcoming and we slept well on each of the 3 nights we stayed. We chose to have breakfast a couple of the mornings and although not cheap was worth it as good quality ingrediants were used.
The room was getting towards needing a repaint and there were quite alot of stairs but overall a good choice as location, welcome , price and comfort were right

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hastingsranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Ok, so it isn't The Ritz, but the rooms were spacious, the beds comfy, and the staff wouldn't have been more accommodating. Add to that free parking and wifi - what's not to like? Well, okay, the radiator rattled when I turned it on, and for some reason the plasma TV was attached to the side wall, so i'd have to be sitting by the bathroom door to watch telly, but these were minor quibbles. For my two day business trip to Derby, this hotel was just fine :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RupertM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Court Hotel

Property: Aston Court Hotel
Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Derby, the modern Smart Aston Court Hotel has every amenity for guests, whether for leisure, business or a celebration. We are conveniently located with the Westfield Shopping Centre and Derby Railway Station a brief walk away; local attractions include Alton Towers, Chatsworth House and Royal Crown Derby. Guests will enjoy our smart contemporary rooms with en-suite facilities, Wi-Fi and LCD TVs with Free-view, and can relax in the extensive lounge before enjoying a meal in our onsite restaurant. If you are planning a wedding then look no further than the Smart Aston Court Hotel – we can help you with every aspect of your celebration. Unlike many venues, your can simply hire a function room at the Smart Aston Court Hotel and organise the catering yourselves, or you can let us look after you on your special day. We believe our business facilities are among the best in the Derby area with conference and meeting rooms catering from five to 150 people. Naturally we can provide all the services and equipment that a modern business needs for a successful event. The Smart Aston Court Hotel is also the perfect venue to celebrate a birthday, anniversary, Christmas or other special event. Whether you are in Derby for a relaxing weekend, looking for the perfect setting for a celebration or after a modern and efficient venue for a business meeting get in touch with us at the Smart Aston Court Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aston Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Aston
Aston Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing