We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas shopping trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Christmas shopping trip”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My daughter and I spent 2 nights at the hotel on one of our annual Christmas shopping trips. The hotel still retains some of the features of its glory days when as the Midland Hotel situated next to the railway station it attracted visitors such as Queen Victoria, Prince Philip, and various Prime Ministers. The rooms were very spacious and had evidently been recently refurbished to a high standard. The beds were extremely comfortable. Parking was free. There were a couple of downsides - no lift, and breakfast was not included in our package - however we had got a really good deal, and the breakfast was excellent and cost £10. Also help with luggage was available on request. The location was not entirely ideal, as it was a 10 minute walk to the shopping centre and the Cathedral area. However as the weather was good we enjoyed the stroll. I am unable to comment on lunch and dinner quality as my daughter and I always prefer to explore the local restaurants. We would certainly use the hotel again

Room Tip: request a low floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thanks for your positive review, I do hope the shopping trip was successful!.
Have a look on our website we normally have a shopping break that includes breakfast and a £20.00 shopping voucher for the westfield.
See you next November I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    406
    207
    107
    45
See reviews for
126
512
62
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

As part of an independent booking for a party of 4 we stayed for a 2 night new year deal.It was wonderful. Clean comfortable room, friendly staff, superb food , the entertainment was good if a bit loud . The piper playing Auld Lang Syne was magic. Well done Hallmark.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thanks for a great review! We put a lot of effort into the New years eve package to make it special and I'm so please we got it right for you and your friends. Hope to see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after Christmas on a groupon voucher and chose the hotel due to the value for money and location. Both the price and closeness to the city centre were definite positives but everything else was just average. The staff were polite but not welcoming, breakfast was ok but not as advertised on the menus and although the room was big, it was rather dated. It was great to have a shower and separate bath although both needed a rinse down before use. The communal areas were well presented and well kept.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summer2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks for your review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and i hope you'll come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was close to the railway station and it was!
It was fine but not special. Our room was described as 'executive' but I'm not sure what that was describing - it seemed fairly standard to us. Interestingly there were lots of drawers that didn't open. Breakfast was fine, mostly self-service with hot and cold food with a reasonable choice.
The Hallmark Derby was comfortable but a bit overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YCPManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks for your review, we do consider we offer good value and always try to ensure our guest have a great stay. I do hope you'll come back and try us again in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etwall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our Daughters wedding reception was held here and many of us booked rooms for overnight. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food service and quality was very good although some of the guests did think that we had to wait too long to be seated and fed(1.5 hours) but that would be to allow for photographs. The evening reception was also excellent with many guests saying that it was the best wedding they had been to for a long time.
The bed was very comfortable and roomy and the all you can eat hot and cold breakfast buffet was very good. All in all I would recommend this as a wedding venue, or for a break. I found it great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks for a great review I'm so pleased the wedding went well and all the guest had a great time, hope we can see you again in the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

for £106 for the night and an alleged 4 stars you'd think this hotel might be able to produce an iron and an ironing board or at least take a bit less than an hour to admit they couldn't provide one. They seemed quite surprised that I thought it was quite a big deal for them not to have an iron available ... Otherwise the lobby smells of stale food, the fittings and furniture in the room are cheap, the TV is pathetic - can't wait to try the breakfast in the morning ...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to do a review, you were clearly very upset at the time. I have looked into the issue that happened on the night with ironing boards and measures have been taken to address this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The place is comfortable and location is probably the best in Derby, but that SMELL! for some reason, there was a stale eggy smell in the entrance corridor - i dont know if people there are used to it, but surely that is the minimum you would fix!

The staff were very helpful and very friendly, probably one of the best i have seen. Unfortunately, the hotel itself is quite dated. The foyer and reception areas are nice but the rooms were very dated. The executive double is a huge room, you could camp out in it, but the amenities were all dated with a tiny tv in the corner. If you want a trip into memory lane sure book this hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Immyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your review, our hotel was built in 1841 so it is a beautiful old building, when Hallmark took over about 5 years ago they did a full programme of refurbishment on the whole hotel, which was carried out in a tasteful modern style.
With regards to the smell I am not sure about this and haven't had any other comments about it, but we will of course keep an eye on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#22 of 29 in Derby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland

Property: Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland is located in the heart of Derby City Centre, next to the railway station. The hotel has 102 great bedrooms including family bedrooms, all equipped with free WiFi. Why not enjoy our delicious food in our brasserie or sit back and relax in our lounge and bar. The hotel has lots of great facilities including nine meeting rooms with capacity for up to 200 delegates, a stylish wedding venue for up to 200 guests and plenty of car parking. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derby
Derby Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing