We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with character” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Derby
liverpool
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Hotel with character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just returned from trip to this Derby Hotel with my sister using Travelzoo voucher which included afternoon tea on arrival and entrance to Chatsworth House. Lovely female member of staff on reception, welcoming and very efficient. Afternoon tea served in dining room.was very enjoyable. Scone a bit doughy but not complaining.Male bar staff who served us was pleasant, and very helpful. Offered to provide second pot of tea and hot water. Would suggest people ask to have afternoon tea in the bar area which is brighter. Dining room tables very close and lighting very subdued. Room was good, clean and comfortable. Quiet at night. Bit noisy outside our room as opposite Derby railway station and too warm to close windows but that cant be helped. Buffet breakfast was adequate. States ask for skimmed milk- they had none. Again dining room tables too close. Little room to get in and out and dining room lighting is dull. fresh fruit salad not filled up and very scant anyway. Would be nice to have warm plates for cooked breakfast. generally was a very good deal. Be warned hotel is a long way from Chatsworth House and negotiating the Ring Road out of Derby takes some time even with my sisters sat nav. Would return and recommend hotel.

Room Tip: Were in Room 109 first floor. Opposite Derby station- bit noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NannyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for your great review and your feedback, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    400
    203
    104
    44
See reviews for
120
502
61
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

All the staff were friendly and polite, from the lady on reception to the waitresses in the restaurant and to the cleaning ladies. It made our stay a really good experience. I would certainly use the hotel again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankanglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for a fantastic 5 star review; I’m so pleased you had a great stay with us and I hope you enjoyed your conference !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

great hotel, very close to station, we had a travelzoo deal with tickets to chatsworth house the following day. very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bedroom, nice buffet breakfast, enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Another great 5 star review! Thanks so much for the review I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

the young lady on check in was one of the most helpful and most pleasant check in staff i have come across, nothing was too much trouble. on arrival the place was spotless and there was a lovely atmosphere at check in and in the nearby bar area. got a room on the 2nd floor, it was a bit confusing finding it as when you get out the lift there are 2 contradictive arrows showing you where to go. Room was furnished lovely and spotless! bathroom was spacious and extremely clean. food was nice and the only bad point was the price of drinks (£7 for 250 ml wine) breakfast the next morning was not very hot even though i was first in the restaurant. car parking in the hotel car park is also a little confusing
will i return? i am next week!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for your great review and your feedback, Looking forward to welcoming you back next week!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary in July, excellent food, friendly staff, clean and tidy. We had a great weekend and would recommend. We also had tickets to visit Chatsworth house and a two course meal and the bar staff make an amazing 'white Russian'

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked this hotel via SecretEscapes.com with a great price for a 2 night stay, with one 2 course dinner and free entry to Chatsworth House. The staff were friendly and helpful and requesting peppermint tea at breakfast was no problem whatsoever. The 2 course dinner we had was absolutely fine and pretty much standard hotel fare. The tables were quite large which made moving in and out a bit difficult but the range of scotch behind the bar made up for that. The bedroom though was incredibly hot and even though we had the supplied fan on overnight neither of us slept well which was a real shame and the reason for the 3 out of 5 rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amdriver_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for your review; I’m please you had overall a good time stay with us but I’m really sorry you found the room to hot, I do hope you’ll come back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Can't fault the service and accommodation at this hotel, also well placed for Derby City centre.
Added bonus having booked through 'Secret Escapes' we received complimentary tickets for Chatsworth House.
Well worth 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask I feel sure they will accommodate the request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred7850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland

Property: Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland is located in the heart of Derby City Centre, next to the railway station. The hotel has 102 great bedrooms including family bedrooms, all equipped with free WiFi. Why not enjoy our delicious food in our brasserie or sit back and relax in our lounge and bar. The hotel has lots of great facilities including nine meeting rooms with capacity for up to 200 delegates, a stylish wedding venue for up to 200 guests and plenty of car parking. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derby
Derby Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing