We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Surprised to find guests are now being charged for parking
Room was okay if a little basic and in need of modernising
Breakfast was dire at best, arrived early only to find food had run out on buffet
When food arrived the quality was very poor

Will be staying elsewhere in future frankly it's not worth the money

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonnic55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for your review. Our car park is at the back of the hotel and is free for guest to use, I assume you must have packed in one the car parks near the front which is managed and fee’s levied by a separate company. I was sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at breakfast we do use all good quality products and cook little and often, I do apologies if we didn’t get this right for you on the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    417
    210
    109
    46
See reviews for
133
525
62
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at hallmark for a weekend with my partner, we were introduced to this place via wowcher £99 2nights b&b. Overall room size is good, bed is comfortable, location is perfect, bathroom was nice size.. Breakfast was ok.
Only thing that let this place down was the cleanliness of the room eg, hair in the bathroom, rust on the shower, a soap which was used from the previous guest in the short cubicle...
Would stay again for the same price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meeks1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for your review. I’m glad overall you enjoyed your stay and that you’ll come back and stay with us again. I have brought your comments to our housekeeping manager attention and she will investigate and take the appropriate action. Again thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked a weekend trip with friends via travel zoo and got an excellent deal. We stayed for two nights b and b with an evening meal and entry to chats worth house all for £128. The hotel is situated next to derby train station. The area isn't great and there isn't a lot to do, a couple of pubs and restaurants. However, we found this hotel a little gem. The staff were helpful. Our room was large and clean, bed was ok, bathroom clean with bath and shower and plenty of room, could do with an update but it was fine. There was tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of wardrobe space, we find it very good. We were also able to park though this is limited. We would definitely stay here again. We used it for a base to explore tough it is quite a drive to the peak district if you have the time it was fine. We fell upon a lovely Italian restaurant around the corner too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeBKHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for a great review; I’m so pleased you had a good stay with us on this occasion. I am Looking forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have attended the 'Family Christmas Day Garden Room Lunch' for the past 3 years and this year cannot fault the day.

Lauren (Events) is helpful and accommodating and nothing is too much trouble, I would recommend her as a contact as she is efficient and professional.

We have 2 children aged 6 & 10 and Christmas is all about them, we attended the Hallmark 3 years ago on recommendation and have attended many events here since. This year we gave the children the option of staying home, visiting family or attending the hotel...This won hands down and suits me as no cooking!

The hotel is a modern boutique style and we have always found the majority of Reception staff to be pleasant and for the most part friendly and helpful. A cloakroom is available here on a ticket system.

There is a good sized bar area with plenty of comfortable seating, on arrival we sat and had a drink whilst the children made friends with the resident entertainer (for the day) who kept them thoroughly entertained with balloon tricks, jokes, games and offered prizes for various
competitions, there was also a wide selectIon of board games in the lounge area for everybody's
use, an area is also provided for the children to 'chill out' after lunch and watch a selection of Christmas films, draw, play games or just chat with new friends that have made. The day is very child friendly which makes for a relaxed parent.

There was a lovely Christmassy atmosphere throughout the venue thanks to the beautifully
decorated communal areas, the staff, and the background music to suit all tastes from traditional
carols to well known Christmas classics. The staff were all very jolly and were some suitably
attired in Santa hats! These were also provided on each table in the bar/lounge should you wish
to partake in the festive feel!

Lunch is served in the 'Garden Room' tables are pre allocated and were beautifully decorated in silver, (we also loved the complimentary Mistletoe) Starters and deserts are table served the main meal is a Carvery, there is a good selection of meats and vegetables cooked to a high standard, serving platters are restocked prior to them becoming empty. The food was very hot and as always delicious. Our waitress (Beth) was outstanding and chatted to the children about Santa and what he had brought for them, ordered drinks were quickly brought to the table, between courses Santa and his Elf came to our table and chatted to the children and left them with a gift ( Excellent quality dinosaur themed items from Past Times) which the boys were
thrilled with. We sat to eat at 14.30 and didn't feel rushed to leave ( the table sittings start from 12.00-14.30) and lunch is leisurely as your table is just for you....No second sittings.

We had driven to the venue it was easy to park in the large car park adjacent to the Hallmark, Reception were happy to arrange a taxi for us and just as happy for us to leave the car overnight.

We would recommend the Hallmark without hesitation and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trollydolly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Another great 5 star review! Thanks so much for the review I’m so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas day lunch with us. The team had worked so hard to make it a special day for all our guest. Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mk
Level Contributor
296 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Lovely old hotel full of charm rooms very nice not much of a view a very small bad point was cheap toilet paper in rooms it was very busy with xmas parties so we had a drink in their other hotel across the road breakfast was great very good choice and you can order kippers,smoked haddock,poached eggs ect to be cooked to order and a toaster that worked but the best thing about this hotel was the staff allways friendly they went the extra mile to please well done to all the staff

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazchrisMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and staff. We pride ourselves on our team and I’m so pleased you had a great stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

i normally stay across the road at the Aston court hotel when in derby but work had booked me in to this hotel instead how i wish they hadn't i arrived at the beautiful looking hotel to be greeted by a receptionist that looked like she had been chewing on a wasp all morning after being given the key i made my way to the room it was ok apart from i could hear the person next door on the phone as the walls are paper thin but i thought never mind i got a shower and changed and went down to there restaurant i was seated pretty quick but then waited about 25mins before i saw anybody again i could have got up and got served at the bar quicker myself food served on wooden slabs not plates are we cave men? and when it came it was stone cold so left most of it. breakfast was buffet style served between 7 and 9 i come down at 8.45 and there was very little left i told the waitress only to be asked what did i expect breakfast finished in 15mins and they weren't cooking anymore so some dried out pastry's and wafer thin toast it was the only good thing was the coffee all in all i will never go back and would advise you to do the same avoid at all cost!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kirk l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for your review, I’m really surprised about your comments, our hotel is over a 140 years and the walls are really quite substantial between the rooms. With regards to the dinner and breakfast comments we have a great team at the hotel who try very hard to ensure our guest have a great stay, I’m sorry if we did achieve our normal high standards during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I visited the hotel as one of the organising party of a conference. We had the garden room which was large enough for 50 with a exhibition table at the back and the tea and coffe table. The refreshments were great, teas, coffees and pastries in the morning, tea, coffee, smoothies and biscuits for the mid morning break and tea, coffee and mince pies for the afternoon break.

Because of the time of year, we opted for the hot christmas meal served in the restaurant, the food was disappointing, 2 thin slices of turkey, 2 roast potatoes and a sprinkling of veg.

Yvonne the conference lady was fantastic, we needed a few things though the day and she was always quick to meet our needs.

On leaving however, I went to reception to ask if we needed to do anything with regards to the bill or if it was all settled, I was "barked" at (there really isn't a better word) by a lady called Becky who said "how am I supposed to know, I have only just got here ". Baring in mind, I had no idea when this lady started (and why would I). She then phoned Yvonne who said we were all done and fine to leave. Very disappointed in this lady and should not be on reception with that attitude, certainly put doubts in my head about visiting on a personal basis.

Overall a good conference hotel, I wouldn't go to reception with any questions though, you might get your head bitten off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for your review; I’m really surprised about your comments about the Christmas conference lunch. The sprinkling of vegetable as you describe it was carrot and Sweed mash, roast red onion, roast beetroot, Brussels sprout, carrots and Parsnips, along with roast potatoes, pigs in blankets and cranberry sauce on the table. Thanks for your great comments about Yvonne which has been passed on directly to her. I have passed your comments on to our reception manager about the Becky, Becky has been with us for a number of years and I can honestly say I have never once had a negative remark from a guest about her. I’m pleased you enjoyed the conference and I do hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
424 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
0.0 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
473 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland

Property: Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland is located in the heart of Derby City Centre, next to the railway station. The hotel has 102 great bedrooms including family bedrooms, all equipped with free WiFi. Why not enjoy our delicious food in our brasserie or sit back and relax in our lounge and bar. The hotel has lots of great facilities including nine meeting rooms with capacity for up to 200 delegates, a stylish wedding venue for up to 200 guests and plenty of car parking. BT Sport is now available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Derby
Derby Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing