We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twixmas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Twixmas”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just returned from a twixmas break with friends and the hotel was fantastic, staff lovely, pleasant at all times, bedrooms very clean and the food was excellent will definitely come again and recommend it to anyone. Location great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benita107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    341
    152
    47
    17
See reviews for
179
398
16
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Good value hotel with lovely pool and excellent food. Great hotel to stay at for business. Lovely terrace at the back of the restaurant. probably a little out of town if you are visiting for pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

The Mickleover is a well run hotel with friendly and helpful staff, is well kept and has good sized comfortable rooms. Parking is always ample. The food in the restaurant is a little expensive and not very imaginative. The starbucks in the downstairs bar is an added bonus.

A great hotel for business or pleasure.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fozzibeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, England
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here as base for touring the area with a coach party for a festive weekend.
We were greeted warmly with hot drinks in reception whilst our bags were taken to our rooms.The hotel had attractive lights and Christmas decorations in place around the circular reception area which set the tone for the weekend.
As other guests have remarked ,my room was also cold on arrival but the efficient heating system soon took care of that.The showerhead dripped constantly despite the hotel proclaiming its eco values but the complaints stop here.
I found my room on third floor similar to other menzies hotels and I had a very comfortable nights sleep with all the comforts I could wish. Despite over looking the main road the noise spoken of by others did not bother me and I enjoyed sun rise from my balcony.
I found both dinner and breakfast very acceptable with excellent attentive service in the Brasserie. In fact all staff were friendly and efficient throughout the hotel. I did not use the swimming pool as we were not in the hotel long enough, having a packed tour programme.I would definitely stop here again and look forward to it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MX19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Just spent two night break with friends at this hotel. Reception staff greeted us with a warm welcome. Our room, although a little cold to start with as heating had not been put on, was all that we required and quickly warmed up. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate selection with biscuits. Shower was adequate, but we are used to a power shower so found it a bit weak. Nice to have a complimentary iron and board in wardrobe. Good selection at breakfast from buffet and likewise evening dinner had good selection. Staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel was beautifully decorated for christmas with xmas songs playing which made us feel very festive. We did not use the bar as we thought it was expensive. We used pool facilities and again this was a very enjoyable experience. This hotel is in a great location for exploring and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDM57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was a 'halfway' meeting place for my husband & I plus his sister & her husband -we'd booked several months ago as a bargain break and it surpassed our expectations. On arrival we both had a free upgrade to the best suites as a large coach party was due. Lovely rooms which were cold but soon warmed up when we worked out to do the heating! Part of the deal was dinner on the first night -it wasn't gourmet but there was plenty of choice and we all enjoyed it. Breakfasts are better -fantastic choice of juices, fruit (& delicious coulis), freshly baked breads & croissants, help yourself hot buffet which had the best sausages I'd ever tasted in a hotel. Waiting on staff were very attentive & pleasant. Spa facilities were excellent also with agood sized pool.
My only hesitation in recommending this hotel was it was 'taken over' by Topland (?) during the weekend after Menzies went into administration. We were lucky as our booking continued as planned, we heard from staff that 3 other hotels in the group did not fare so lucky when then were closed with immediate effect (without telling a coach party who were on their way!) So if the new company continue with the great value I would definitely book it again.

Room Tip: We had the best ones so don't know what the others were like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel-paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Arriving after midnight ,after several hours on the motorway you good not wish for a better welcome than from Kevin the night Manager. quick efficient check in with no fuss.very comfortable bed and stunning misty morning scenery. Excellent breakfast.location great too not to far from main arterial routes

Room Tip: ask for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steelers 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
6.7 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
3.9 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
1,558 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court

Property: Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Address: Etwall Road, Derby DE3 0XX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court is fabulously located in Central England, only three miles from Derby city centre. The hotel has plenty of free parking onsite and 99 comfortable bedrooms including 15 family bedrooms. The hotel offers lots of great facilities including a brasserie, lounge, bar and free superfast WiFi throughout the hotel. A health and leisure club including a swimming pool, sauna, spa pool, whirlpool and steam-room. 11 meeting rooms for up to 200 delegates. Stylish wedding venue for up to 200 guests. Sky Sports and BT sports is available within the bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Menzies Mickleover Court Hotel Derby
The Menzies Hotel Mickleover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing