We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lotus Esprit”
Review of Green Gables

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Gables
Ranked #18 of 25 Derby B&B and Inns
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lotus Esprit”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Myself and the other half stayed at the B&B for a night whilst visiting some family. The bus stop to jump on the city center bus is just round the corner and busses run every 15 minutes. The indian at the bottom of the road "Moza" is also worth visiting if you want to stay local for dinner. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will look forward to going and visiting Martin Linda and Harry again :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snork87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
4
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

A little gem of a B&B! The room was clean, well decorated and very comfortable. I stayed at the B&B for one night while visiting family in the area and i couldnt have asked for more. The host was warm and friendly and made me feel very welcome. Breakfast was tastey and there was plenty of it! I will definitely stay again next time im in town, well done green gables!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The room was clean but the bath needed a bit of work. The price paid was much less than average so this wasn't a large problem for us but may be for others.

The owner was very nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_Peters1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Lovely place fresh and clean. The host was great, breakfast was Yum. Lovely rooms with plenty of space and very comfortable. Local pub was great. We had a wonderful carvery meal there. Would highly recommend this place to people. Will definitely book again if going up again. Thanks from the Walker family.

Room Tip: My tip is just enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazodavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Lovely little bed and breakfast. Room was clean and comfy, service simply couldn't be faulted in any way, and the breakfast was hearty and substantial.
Mine host couldn't have been more hospitable and I can only say good things about Green Gables.

Local amenities are only a short walk away, and the area seems really nice. Green Gables is situated not far from a main road, but is still very quiet and peaceful.

Real value for money and will definitely book again when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bancroft6656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

What looks like a converted large bungalow really has the feel of a family home when you enter. The room we had was fantastic value. The only reason it didn't get a 5 for the room is, I would only give a 5 for somewhere like the ritz which is obviously in a very different league from ab&b. Breakfast was great. The owner was so helpful & accommodating after a mechanical issue with motorbike, he was happy to let me wait & watch tv all day while we waited for collection at no extra charge!
Located off the main road & 2 mins away from all manner of pubs & restaurants.
If only all b&b's were as good as this chap

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stumpymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derby
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
6.7 mi away
ibis budget Derby
ibis budget Derby
#1 of 1 in Willington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#23 of 29 in Derby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kings Highway Bed & Breakfast
3.1 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables

Property: Green Gables
Address: 19 Highfield Lane | Chaddesden, Derby DE21 6PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Green Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing