We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycling Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Littleover Lodge Hotel
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cycling Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

A clean, modern hotel. Breakfast good. Friendly staff. Would return if staying in the area. A friend booked the suite, which was multi level. Nice quiet location, close to all the major routes out of Derby

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelharriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    97
    41
    13
    21
See reviews for
76
94
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night book in late but there was no problem our room was ready and was clean and tidy there was some paint coming of the wall in the bathroom but it look like some painting was going on in the bar so hope it will continue on in to the bedrooms dinner was never nice and the breakfast was plentiful all over a very nice place .

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at this lodge for one night this weekend and loved it!

On arrival we were impressed by the lovely surroundings and how quaint the lodges appeared. It made a nice change from boring high rise hotels!

Check-in was quick & easy, I had booked via booking.com & then emailed the lodge with some requirements which were immediately dealt with by Natalia. We were given what we asked for and I could park right outside our room no problem. (Room 8)

On entering the room we saw it was a nice size with a double bed, built in wardrobes, tv, tea/coffee and a bathroom which was clean and had a bath/shower. I had requested a disabled room (for parking mainly and so that I didn't have to use stairs as I have knee replacements) and this was granted. There was a ramp and a grab rail by the toilet but had I had bathing issues I would have struggled with the shower over bath (there was no grab rail in the shower) I'm not sure if wet rooms are available so bare this in mind if you are a wheelchair user.

The bed was very soft, this might bother some people but I felt it to be very comfortable.

There were extra blankets in the wardrobe and a camp bed. There was also an ironing board, iron and trouser press.

The rooms had a heater but we didn't need it.

There were blackout curtains and blinds in place which were useful given the early sunrises at the moment.

We didn't eat in the carvery as we had travelled for a surprise party but the breakfast was nice with a lot of choice. The dining room appeared nicely decorated.

The 3 staff embers we saw were all helpful and polite.

Would definitely stay here again if we visited the area! I much prefer the charger and few skinless of this lodge compared with the chains such as grave lodge and premier in (who charge nearly double the price to this lodge!)

The lodge only has 16 rooms and it seems overall to be a nice well maintained establishment.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juvey_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I have visited the Littleover Lodge hotel several times over the last three years and always found it good value for the money and certainly better than the larger chain hotels for value and amenity. The staff are always very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are very good as are the carvery lunches. A good place to stop if visiting Derby or the surrounding areas for a few days.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms seem to offer more privacy and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Four of us stayed here for three nights very clean Anton and his staff made us very welcome nothing was too much trouble and they all proved very good company food was excellent breakfast served in Bistro very good dinner in Bentleys outstanding met Chris head chef again a very nice young man with lots of ideas and ambition for the restaurant will definitely return. Frances C husband and friends.

Room Tip: Can only say that all rooms were in good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

When we first arrived here we we were offered room 3. It was very small, old fashioned and needed quite a bit of maintenance. For example the wall that adjoins the bathroom and lounge room is swollen from moisture from shower and the paint is peeling off. Not a very attractive look. Because I had heard about some larger, two story rooms here, I went and asked if any were available. I was very happy to hear that one was, and so we moved into that for our two night stay. It was huge in comparison and well worth the extra cost to upgrade. So, my ratings are based on this room not the first one. We also ate in both restaurants...the Carvery was just average...very much pub food. The meal we had in there up market restaurant, Bentley's was excellent. We would highly recommend that one to you. Breakfasts were pretty good, with quite a nice choice of food.

Room Tip: I would ONLY recommend staying in the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent two nights at the Littleover Lodge Hotel when we brought my 91 year old mother back to visit her hometown of Derby, England. Very nice accommodations and the service and food at the restaurant, Bentleys, was superb! However, the best thing about the Lodge are the wonderful people who work here. We felt so well taken care of!! Anton, the manager, went out of his way to accommodate us; Karen in the pub got us a great deal with the local taxi company to drive us to all the spots in Derby that my Mom remembered; Rubin at Bentleys was a perfect host; and Natalia in the office was as sweet as she could be. If we ever get back to Derby, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bookwormamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
3.2 mi away
The Farmhouse at Mackworth
3.6 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
International Hotel
International Hotel
#27 of 29 in Derby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#22 of 29 in Derby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Littleover Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Littleover Lodge Hotel

Property: Littleover Lodge Hotel
Address: Rykneld Road | Littleover, Derby DE23 4AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Littleover Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Littleover Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing