We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for reasonable stayover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Littleover Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Littleover Lodge Hotel
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ideal for reasonable stayover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We found the room ideal for the price we paid, very reasonable, clean, but we felt that the bathroom/shower needed a makeover, excellent shower and heating system, except we did have to switch the heating controls off as during the night it kept clicking and wakeing us up, so we had to switch it off, not enough clothes hangers, for the two of us.
We ate at the main restaurant there and can recommend the meal we had was excellent, you could have a carvery, in the main bar area if you so wish, which was reasonable and looked good,staff was very helpful and polite, ideal place for a wedding reception.
Good parking facilities.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    95
    39
    13
    18
See reviews for
73
93
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Whilst the price of the two rooms we booked was very reasonable (especially as it included a full English breakfast), the 'free wifi' did not work and the beds and general decor could certainly do with some updating.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lbabBrighton_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel on 22nd of October in room 2. We arrived ok and were given the key. As we were on a family visit we left our bags and went out visiting immediately. On our return we relaxed and tried to turn the TV on, but could not as the remote did not work. I went to reception and after finding it unmanned with confidential papers on the desk and the mail in full view the receptionist came in.(Not a good start). I was then told." Well it worked ok yesterday". I went back to the room to await the maintenance man who turned up with the assistant manager. Now things improved a lot. He was nice and professional and treated us properly. We later met the owner who was also very pleasant. We talked about the rooms (ours did leak from the roof slightly) and he agreed it was going to be put right and offered us another room. However we decided to leave at this point. It was only the room that we were not happy in coupled with the original receptionists attitude. We did however go back for our evening meal to ensure that we did not feel that the hotel was not good enough. The food was excellent and the service was very good too. We will definitely go back there to eat again and maybe stay when the rooms have been upgraded.

Room Tip: We had Room 2 which is a split level suite. A lot of wasted space downstairs which is a shame and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 43588mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Littleover Lodge provided excellent value for money with a good sized and well equipped double room including breakfast for £54.50 (via Laterooms). The first impression was of a rather scruffy reception area, but our room exceeded expectations and was very clean, if a little "tired" in the bathroom. The bedroom door opened directly into the carpark, with no corridor or any other barrier, so was not very private or quiet. But as we were out late, this did not affect us and we slept well on a comfortable bed. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful and the service was good.
Overall, great value for money.

Room Tip: Might be worth asking for a room away from the carpark for a quieter location (if they have any).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H9105ULelaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Everything about the weekend stay was first class and as for value for money could not be faulted. All staff were pleasant and friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Food at both evening meal and breakfast excellent and our only moan would be that the breakfast cup of tea did not come in a pot to the table. Really clutching at straws to come up with a negative

Room Tip: Ground floor suite room 1 was spacious and well furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The booking process was really easy and we upgraded to a suite.
The hotel is really handy for a variety of attractions, we visited Alton Towers which was a half hour drive away.
We stayed in Room 1. It was a really lovely room, but a few niggles would be that it needed to be maintained a little better. - The balustrade needed repair work, a handle has fallen off one of the drawers, there is a chip in the front window and the room seemed to have a lot of condensation on the windows (no black mould - just wet windows),
The staff were very friendly and polite.
Breakfast in the morning had a nice selection and was help yourself.
Bed was quite comfy, but as a double it could have been better as a king.
Would I stay again? If it was a one night stay then yes, any longer then probably not.

Room Tip: A suite is really lovely as its massive, but suite 1 needs a little repair work
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank char m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stopped over at the Littleover Lodge on a Saturday night. The booking process through Booking.com was easy and we got a good rate. Also, the Lodge was very easy to find as it is situated close to the A38. From our room, our view across countryside was impeded by the powerstation chimneys at Loughboro. As another reviewer stated it is a Motel rather than a Hotel. The room was clean and tidy but could have done with a bit of a spruce up as it is a bit on the tired side - particularly the bathroom. Amenities were ok although the hairdryer did not work and the ironing board stashed in the cupboard had definitely seen better days.

We checked in in the afternoon and then went out for the day returning in the evening. Unfortunately as the restaurant is open to the general public and was very busy on a Saturday night, we were unable to park outside our room and had to park at the far end of the car park and then walk to our room. Not necessarily very far but would have been grim if it had been raining. Perhaps a "resident's parking area" might help!

The bed was a bit soft but the sheets were clean and the TV worked. We had breakfast on Sunday morning which was ok with plenty of choice.

I would use the Littleover lodge again as a stopover. It is cheap and cheerful and pleasant enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonydlee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derby
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
3.7 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Farmhouse at Mackworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Belper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Littleover Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Littleover Lodge Hotel

Property: Littleover Lodge Hotel
Address: Rykneld Road | Littleover, Derby DE23 4AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Littleover Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Littleover Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing