We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay right in the City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay right in the City Centre”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on a last minute and unplanned trip to Derby.

The welcome and reception was efficient and friendly. The room was huge for a hotel of this type, and very well appointed. Our view was distinctly uninspiring, of a central quad which could do with some plants or features to brighten it up a little. The benefit to this location however was that on a Saturday night we were not at all disturbed by noise from the street and had an excellent night's sleep in the comfy bed.

Breakfast was great...the staff were very friendly and accommodating and there was a broad range of produce available even half an hour before breakfast shut (which often isn't the case).

We would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank llyurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

Your comments are much aprpeciated and will be shared with the team, who are always welcoming of feedback.

We do hope that if you have another unplanned trip to Derby in the future that you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Carrie-Louise Holleran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    188
    48
    29
    19
See reviews for
79
207
19
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
326 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Based on the positive reviews and the hotel website, I had expected a much more upscaled and newer Holiday Inn.

While I had a prepaid reservation as a platinum member, I would get a decent room assignment. Instead I was given this interior room with the ugly view of the roof top. I immediately asked for a different room and was told the hotel was fully book, all 90 plus rooms. Funny we only saw about 10 people at breakfast and may be a handful of guests that we ran into in the main lobby.

The room itself was pretty nondescript, neither modern nor dated, just very odd decor. Bathtub in the bathroom seems like a thing of the past so it is very unusual. There is nothing worth writing about otherwise.

Would think twice about going back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Good Morning

Thank you for your recent review.

We appreciate you sharing your comments with us.

It is unfortunate that you did not like the decor of the hotel, however this would be personal preference. We are very proud of the hotel as a modern hotel in a city centre location, the newest hotel in Derby.

All of our rooms have showers and baths to cater for guests individual requirements.

We do hope that you would choose to stay with us again should you need accommodation in Derby. We can always request a room with a Riverside view for you; and we have other facilities including Stresa, a modern and contemporary restaurant and a bar area with extensive views of Derby.

Kind Regards
Carrie-Louise Holleran


While I had a prepaid reservation as a platinum member, I would get a decent room assignment. Instead I was given this interior room with the ugly view of the roof top. I immediately asked for a different room and was told the hotel was fully book, all 90 plus rooms. Funny we only saw about 10 people at breakfast and may be a handful of guests that we ran into in the main lobby.

The room itself was pretty nondescript, neither modern nor dated, just very odd decor. Bathtub in the bathroom seems like a thing of the past so it is very unusual. There is nothing worth writing about otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stay at Holiday Inn Dery Riverlights frequently and I found it is very convenient close to city center, shopping, Gym and restaurants. The customer services at Receptions and the Restuarant are excellent. Claire Moorey and Dave (Reception) are very helpful.

Room Tip: Look for the rooms with a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_MK17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIDerbyRiverlights, General Manager at Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Good Morning

Thank you very much for your great 5* review.

Your comments are much appreciated and are a great reflection of the dedication and commitment both Claire and Dave give to the hotel and our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on another occasion.

Kind Regards
Carrie-Louise Holleran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very distinctive and easy to find. The car park the hotel uses is conveniently within a couple of minutes walking distance. Check in was efficient and I soon arrived in my room. The room had good facilities including a safe, fridge and professional desk and chair with internet access. It was all spotlessly clean. The only downside was the view from the window was onto the internal courtyard, but as my stay was only one night it didn't really bother me. (I would recommend you ask for a room with a view over the city) I ate dinner in the hotels Italian restaurant, and this was a decent meal, if a little overpriced. Breakfast had a fair selection, however hot offerings could have been warmer. Staff were friendly throughout the stay. Overall a good hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Parcelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Regular guest at Riverlights and a big fan. Hotel is clean and comfortable with all the facilities you want for a business stay (including pretty well equipped gym) but what really makes the difference are the staff- always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeTrigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I travel a lot and spend a lot of my time in this hotel. The quality of services are constant and very good and the staff is just brilliant - especially Dave, the front of house any venue would wish to have - Very positive vibe and always helpful and unique brilliant personality!

I highly recommend this hotel if you're staying over in Derby. The rooms are very good in size, clean and very well equipped.

Oana

Room Tip: All rooms are standard and equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have to stay away for business and the HI at Derby is great. I look forward to coming back each evening to a relaxing bath and very comfortable bed.

The front of house team (Dave, Claire and co) are incredibly accommodating and nothing is too much trouble. It's always service with a smile.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view or a town view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,720 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.4 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights

Property: Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Address: Morledge, Derby DE1 2AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Derby-Riverlights is situated next to the Westfield Derby shopping centre in the heart of the city. Derby bus station is next door and we're a 10-minute walk from Derby Midlands rail station. Flights touch down at East Midlands Airport, 14 miles away. You'll feel relaxed when you step off the bustling street and into our sleek Lobby, with its 4-story glass atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing