We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Which Menu Option!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Water Margin

The New Water Margin
Ranked #111 of 575 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Winner of the Oriental restaurant of the year - Derby food & drinks awards 2011. Our restaurant stands closely to Derby City Centre, and is offering authentic Cantonese & Peking Cuisine in luxurious surroundings and a pleasant atmosphere. We serve traditional "Dim Sum" during normal lunch hours. Our function room equipped with Karaoke facilities is free to hire (minimum spending - £200) for your special occasions. Special banquet can be arranged for your special needs. Please ask for details.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Which Menu Option!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a restaurant we had never tried before. There offer 3 options available, all you can eat, set menus and A' La Carte. From what I could see the car park is not that big but thought he entrance is very ornate. We decided on the all you can eat, starting with soup, I had the won ton. We were asked if we ere okay for them to bring us a selection of starters, which we accepted, be careful though as one of the selections was squid which only one person out of the group liked. We chose 4 mains plus rice and noodles to begin (you may be charged extra if you leave food) with and then ordered 4 more. There was plenty of staff around who were attentive and were happy to recommend wines and dishes. The red wine we had was slightly too cold though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    60
    20
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely food great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I went here recently for a lovely meal. We tried the buffet menu which was varied and difficult to narrow down our selection. All the dishes are cooked to order and were delicious.
I would recommend this restaurant and will certainly be going again next time I am in Derby

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phelpsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in the MIdlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Food and super value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The water margin is a really excellent Chinese restaurant in Derby. The staff are friendly and the restaurant is large and well spaced out.

The real strength is the fixed price menu, where you can order as much as you want, fresh. It's cheap and the food is exceptionally tasty. For me, the best chinese in Derby - go!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper
Level Contributor
134 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food, not great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I went to this restaurant, with some friends from work, there were 4 of us. We ordered our food and it came quickly, and it was piping hot, and was very tasty, I have no complaints there. But when we had finished our main course they cleared the plates away and seemed to forget all about us, they never asked us if we would like anything else, and it took us along time to attract anyones attention. We only wanted coffees, so when they brought them we thought we had better ask for the bill, which wasn't itemised, but strangely rounded up to an exact amount.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank darrenvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Dim Sum-tastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Not been here for about 18 years (big mistake), the place is great! Not changed much either. I went in thinking I would share a couple of starters and mains with noodles. But opted for the Dim Sum eventually. Good choice, absolutely brilliant, fresh and tasty. Looked to be a decent large buffet menu as well, which covered a lot of the main menu. I will be going back for that sooner. I really cannot understand why I have not been more often. Cracking food and value, great place for your Chinese fix!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MauiBuilt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Water Margin also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to The New Water Margin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing