We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, clean, individual. Unimprovable for real ale holidays.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chuckles Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chuckles Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 24 Derby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, individual. Unimprovable for real ale holidays.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I spent nearly a week in Chuckles when I first moved here and was waiting for my accomodation. It's an absolute gem, right in the centre of Derby.

The breakfast is of a very high quality, cereal, a cooked breakfast with nice bacon, decent eggs, plus toast with jams and marmalades made by owner's mum.

The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Tasteful yet eclectic decoration. An individual business with real customer service in a sea of anonymous chain hotels.

In short, this is probably the best B&B I've ever stayed in. If I ever have people coming to visit and there's no room for them to stop, I send them to Chuckles.

Room Tip: It's bang in the centre of Derby, so perfect for ale tourists. However, it is right in the middl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review and for the positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
20
42
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

A lovely guest house situated right in the heart of Derby. A few minutes walk from the centre, very safe area and lovely staff. Very friendly and home-cooked breakfasts. Very clean room and large washing facilities. Very, very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tool552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Nina and Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Nina and Glen run the most perfect guesthouse in the centre of Derby. No en-suites but super rooms, great showers and delicious breakfasts. My husband and I have stayed there twice before and this time we went with my sister. It was a hit with her too. A home away from home. Keep up the excellent work!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daycation186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks again Jessica. Always a delight to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at chuckles for a week back in April. It was a real find and excellent value. Comfortable beds and everything spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were outstanding with acombination of the hearty English and abundance of fruit The owners could not have been more helpful and welcoming in many ways given that I was new to derby. Thanks both of you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks Kathy, it's lovely of you to take the time to write a review and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Nina and Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the chuckles guest and picked it for its name.
We loved the bathrooms and the showers- they had all been re-done and were gorgeous! However, we were disappointed there wasn't the option of having an ensuite bathroom, and were quite surprised at how small the rooms were. We were a little worried about parking our rental car on the street!
Overall the breakfast was delicious and the hosts were very friendly. Wasn't your typical English B&B/stay- but if you're looking for a clean place and great food you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we thank you for the positive feedback. However, we think it a little unfair of you to have down-graded us citing the fact that we do not have en-suite rooms. With respect, if this is an important issue for you, it is most definitely something you should check before making any reservation. Also, though you make a point of mentioning the fact that you worried about your car, no harm came to it, and all was well. Finally, you refer to us as not being a 'typical' English B&B - I presume for you (as an overseas visitor) this would be represented by one that has a more 'flowery' image and is located in the countryside! If that is the case, then I’m afraid we make no apology for not being so and are happy that the atmosphere and décor of our house is not typical, because we offer something more contemporary with the highest standards for the prices charged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great location for the centre of Derby. A very well run establishment. It certainly ticked all our very demanding boxes. Our hosts Nina & Glen could not have been more welcoming. Superb breakfasts were served and could certainly put many highly rated hotels to shame. The rooms are charming and the beds are very comfortable ensuring a good nights sleep ( despite being in the city centre it was very quiet). The quality of the linens and towels are certainly above average.The shared bathroom facilities were excellent.Iwas impressed by the underfloor heating and automatic lighting as with the general high standard of cleanliness throughout.
Would certainly highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review which is very much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed stay with us and look forward to seeing you again later in the year. Nina & Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent a couple of night in this lovey house last week . Nina prepares delicious english breakfasts and she's ready to offer all support you need for yr freetime and eating outside.
The rooms are pretty and and shared bathrooms and showers are always clean and fresh scented. Also It is located near the centre , a few minutes walking from bus station and city momuments. Really nice experience !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank semperoberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it is much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Derby (and the fish & chips!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
0.7 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuckles Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuckles Guesthouse

Property: Chuckles Guesthouse
Address: 48 Crompton Street, Derby DE1 1NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Derby
Hotel Class:3 star — Chuckles Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing