We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at the chuckles guest house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chuckles Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 25 Derby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My stay at the chuckles guest house”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at chuckles for a week back in April. It was a real find and excellent value. Comfortable beds and everything spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were outstanding with acombination of the hearty English and abundance of fruit The owners could not have been more helpful and welcoming in many ways given that I was new to derby. Thanks both of you

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks Kathy, it's lovely of you to take the time to write a review and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Nina and Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
22
44
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the chuckles guest and picked it for its name.
We loved the bathrooms and the showers- they had all been re-done and were gorgeous! However, we were disappointed there wasn't the option of having an ensuite bathroom, and were quite surprised at how small the rooms were. We were a little worried about parking our rental car on the street!
Overall the breakfast was delicious and the hosts were very friendly. Wasn't your typical English B&B/stay- but if you're looking for a clean place and great food you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we thank you for the positive feedback. However, we think it a little unfair of you to have down-graded us citing the fact that we do not have en-suite rooms. With respect, if this is an important issue for you, it is most definitely something you should check before making any reservation. Also, though you make a point of mentioning the fact that you worried about your car, no harm came to it, and all was well. Finally, you refer to us as not being a 'typical' English B&B - I presume for you (as an overseas visitor) this would be represented by one that has a more 'flowery' image and is located in the countryside! If that is the case, then I’m afraid we make no apology for not being so and are happy that the atmosphere and décor of our house is not typical, because we offer something more contemporary with the highest standards for the prices charged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great location for the centre of Derby. A very well run establishment. It certainly ticked all our very demanding boxes. Our hosts Nina & Glen could not have been more welcoming. Superb breakfasts were served and could certainly put many highly rated hotels to shame. The rooms are charming and the beds are very comfortable ensuring a good nights sleep ( despite being in the city centre it was very quiet). The quality of the linens and towels are certainly above average.The shared bathroom facilities were excellent.Iwas impressed by the underfloor heating and automatic lighting as with the general high standard of cleanliness throughout.
Would certainly highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review which is very much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed stay with us and look forward to seeing you again later in the year. Nina & Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent a couple of night in this lovey house last week . Nina prepares delicious english breakfasts and she's ready to offer all support you need for yr freetime and eating outside.
The rooms are pretty and and shared bathrooms and showers are always clean and fresh scented. Also It is located near the centre , a few minutes walking from bus station and city momuments. Really nice experience !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semperoberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it is much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Derby (and the fish & chips!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

After sampling many of Derby’s various guesthouses and travel inns (I won’t name names), I have to say Chuckles was by far the nicest in every category. I ended up staying for a full 6 months (on business) and I cannot think of a single complaint.
Definite highlights were the welcoming hosts, who make an incredibly diverse assortment of delicious breakfast options.
I genuinely can’t recommend this guesthouse highly enough, and would just like to thank Glenn and Nina for giving me somewhere so lovely to live.

Room Tip: Rear rooms can be slightly quieter (due to not facing the street), though noise was never an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for this review Will, we will miss you - you were a model guest!! ... but hopefully you will be back to Derby at some time and we'll see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A beautiful guesthouse, with lovely hosts, rooms and breakfast. Very clean, also lovely bathroom facilities. Right in the centre of Derby so brilliant location! I will definitely be recommending Chuckles and staying again myself!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelsworthy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you Laura. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had a lovely one night stay at this Guesthouse. It was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The owners were very accomodating about the fact that I needed to leave before breakfast - they provided me with a pack up and took some money off the bill (I was still very disappointed to miss the breakfast which has had so many good reviews on this site). The heated floors in the bathroom area are lovely.
The only thing I would add would be that, if you are someone who needs to use the loo in the night, avoid the attic bedroom as the stairs are very steep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knightjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
0.7 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuckles Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuckles Guesthouse

Property: Chuckles Guesthouse
Address: 48 Crompton Street, Derby DE1 1NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Derby
Hotel Class:3 star — Chuckles Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing