We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good B&B, close to Derby centre”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chuckles Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 24 Derby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Quiet B&B, on walking distance of shops and restaurants in Derby centre. Very good and clean facilities. Nice room though a bit small. Very good breakfast, extensive choice, with vegetarian possibilities.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carinvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Chuckles Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 152 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our stay at Chuckles Guesthouse was great. Glenn and Nina are very welcoming and lovely hosts. The room was very clean and the bathroom facilities are very modern (and clean too of course). The breakfast is amazing! This is true for Continental as well as traditional English cooked breakfast. The house has a relaxing atmosphere and Derby has a lot more to offer than we expected (we have had friends saying: ‘why are you going to Derby?’....). It is located within easy reach of the Peak District and there are a lot of good pubs with live music.

Room Tip: Back rooms may be quieter because of pub nearby. We stayed over the weekend and there was no noise...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoCo889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it is much appreciated. Best wishes. Glenn & Nina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Nina and Glenn are very welcoming.
I was given a bigger room free of charge as I am a big lad. Ideal place to stay - very centrally located.
Rooms were cleaned daily, showers and facilities very clean.
and to top it all off a really big and good cooked breakfast :)
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricbose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chucklesguesthouse, Owner at Chuckles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Thank you so much, hope to see you again next year. Best wishes Nina & Glenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Once again we visited Chuckles Guest House in Derby, and were made very welcome by Glenn and Nina. Since our last visit the Guest House has been re-furbished with a very high standard of shower and toilet facilities. Another fine breakfast was consumed, and we had use of the garage for parking. We will certainly visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivien s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Chuckles was just what I needed to keep my spirits up during a thoroughly wet week in Derby. Nina and Glenn run the establishment with relaxed efficiency, and have created a lovely environment for guests. Great breakfasts, spotless rooms, and wet rooms to die for - the showers alone will invigorate you for the day ahead. And all within a minute or two of the centre. Thoroughly recommended..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baldwinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a small and very clean guesthouse close to the centre of Derby where it is more usual to find less pleasant accommodation. Car parking can be a problem but I was offered use of a small garage in a block nearby - this was damp (but the car didn't mind) and it provided safe overnight parking. The entire road would be 'safe' but you'd be lucky to find a space and it would only be until 8am. On road parking is available nearby in streets off Burton Road and indeed on Burton Road for 2 hours (starting at 8am?) so you could leave a car nearby overnight to maybe10am.

The washrooms/showers etc are all very modern and with automatic lighting on stairs and in WCs etc. The stairs were steep to the attic room so check which room you are allocated if you are infirm in any way. Breakfast was very good.

Overall, spotless, recommended, pleasant and above all, very clean.

Room Tip: Attic room has steep stairs, ask which room you get and ask about access.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveSidmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Excellent breakfast, the apricots and prunes are worth another visit alone. Spotless new showers and WCs down the corridor. Clean room with comfortable bed. I will try to stay at Chuckles next time I am in Derby.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
0.7 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#17 of 29 in Derby
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#20 of 29 in Derby
451 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuckles Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuckles Guesthouse

Address: 48 Crompton Street, Derby DE1 1NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Derby
Hotel Class:3 star — Chuckles Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing