We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
Review of Jurys Inn Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jurys Inn Derby
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night, perfect central location. Shocked by price of wifi - don't understand why hotels still think £5 for an hour is reasonable. Could work heating system - uncomfortably warm all night. Apart from that all was well, place feels modern and clean, and at a fantastic price

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AGouldsbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    654
    209
    77
    37
See reviews for
316
516
88
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I didn't drive there so I have no idea how easy it is to find, however my colleagues have said that the ring road is confusing not easy to get around. Reception is very good, pleasant, informative and efficient. I was offered the free Wifi code without asking. The rooms have modern decor with muted tones, mine had a bath which I love when I am away from home. The room and bathroom were clean. Expansive view from room, countryside in the near distance aided by a beautiful spring day. Tea and Coffee available but not even a biscuit in sight! I turned the heating/ A/C on but could not get the temp below 18C. Bring your own shower cap, none supplied and the shower head is high, non adjustable and fixed direct to the wall and for a shorty like me that is not helpful. There is a good old-fashioned rubber plug in the bath which is a pleasant surprise. Dinner was good however my first choice Sea Bass was not available (@ 7.45 pm) so I opted for the Fish Pie which was very tasty served with Greens which were cooked perfectly. To be fair some of my colleagues dined ahead of me and had the Sea Bass which they recommended. I had the Warm Goats cheese salad as stater which was cold. Breakfast was good, the usual hot items which were very tasty and not dried out. There was also a cold buffet but I could not find any Yoghurt. A criticism and not a complaint from me is the bagels are too big and the croissants too small! The service staff are very pleasant and helpful. In the evening before dinner I had to wait at the bar for 5 mins before I went to Reception to ask for service. The S Blanc 'Tierra' is only just palatable and at £6.50 a glass I'd recommend the Shiraz instead! Oh there is a choice of pillows too and the bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have stayed at the Jurys Inn Derby a number of times before. It is a smart, business hotel with lots of floors, dominating the skyline of Derby! I normally stay for just one night, but this time it was for two nights, Friday to Sunday.

The twin-bedded room was very clean and tidy with all the things you'd expect, i.e. tea/coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, flat-screen TV with Freeview, data port (£5.00 per hour) and 24 hours of free Wi-Fi once during your stay.

The ironing board and iron were rather useless - such poor quality that it was pointless trying to get the creases out of anything with them. I suppose this was just a faulty iron and cheap ironing board and I didn't mention it to the staff, so...

Breakfast is a self-service affair and I was pleased to see they have introduced quite a few new things like: various breads that you can cut to the thickness of your choice with honey and marmalade; porridge in a big vat rather than needing to be ordered from the waiting staff as before.

All in all, it does what you'd expect and *sometimes* exceeds your expectations!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Can not complain to be honest its a pretty decent hotel with great service and clean rooms. We chose this hotel for its location to stay as close to town as we could and we will be back soon thank you for looking after us :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I stopped here with 2 friends in December for our work christmas party.

We choose it as its a new hotel in Derby and ideal location.
We also booked well in advance so got a good rate for the room - worked out to be £23 each.

We knew its location and car parking issue but as we local knew where the alternative car park would be........but if we didnt know Derby and its one way system it would of been very frustrating to turn up to the hotel and not be able to park.

Check in was fine and friendly. Not shown to our room but I wouldnt expect to be in a hotel of this nature.
Howrver I was quite surprised how small the room was........it was advertised as a triple.
Ive stayed in much larger "double" rooms.

Ir was clean though and as it was just a stop over we didnt expect anything more.

Although, I must complain about the seriously budget brand toilet roll! I've seen softer toilet roll in council toilets!
Its only a small point ........but it is the little things.

We asked reception to call us a taxi which on gping down no reception staff were available to tell us this had been done and where the taxi would be waiting for us.
We ended up having to wait in the layby about 100ft from the doors.......we think they have a contract with a taxi firm who just randomly pull up. So not very personal.

Couldnt tell you if the hotel was noisy or not as we were all slightly merry when we got in so fell straight to sleep.

I probably wouldnt stay here again but was okay for a night

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gema_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Staying at this hotel was a positive experience from start to finish. A warm friendly greeting from the receptionist. Good service in the restaurant with excellent food. A very helpful manager for whom nothing was too much trouble. Inexperienced but willing to learn barman.
The rooms were clean - if a tad on the small side. The lack of any drawers meant you had to live out of the suitcase.
Good location with reasonably priced car park for the overnight stay.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor or you may be disturbed by road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doilikeholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Waltham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Feeling pretty smug because we only paid £20.14 each with breakfast via a promotion been run through 2014 by a separate site, which also applies to Saturday night. That been said, would gladly pay the full price once the offer expires. We found the room to be quite comfortable and quite easy to get to the temperature that we desired. Room cleanliness was acceptable as was level of decor, furnishings and accessories. Expect to find an Iron and board, hairdryer, kettle and TV. Good powerful shower over a full sized bath.

Reception, bar and restaurant where also comfortable. Price of food and drink is merely a matter of opinion, I thought prices where OK. Breakfast is a buffet style affair, but is brought out so regularly that you are effectively getting a relatively fresh one. Huge range to choose from and quite tasty. Breakfast regime is a pretty relaxed affair too, any time between 7 and 11 on a Sunday, and you don't have to check out until noon either, so relax, enjoy you're breakfast.

We timed our arrival for around 11.30 a.m and had no problem finding a place in the hotel car park, although there are only around thirty spaces, so first come first served. There is a layby in front of the hotel though, so somewhere to drop off luggage and passengers before moving off to find a city centre car park.

Located just across the road from the Cathedral Quarter, accessing shops, bars, restaurants, clubs etc. About a 10-15 minute walk to the Assembly Rooms.

Room Tip: people complain about traffic noise? we always take earplugs when we travel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
1.2 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Derby

Property: Jurys Inn Derby
Address: King Street, Derby DE1 3DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Derby is ideally located within the city's Cathedral Quarter, ideal for both business visitors, due to the proximity of Derby's thriving business district, and leisure guests keen to explore the city's rich history and culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from a variety of museums, concert halls, markets and galleries as well as a pleasant walk from Derby's shopping epicentre, St. Peter's Quarter. Alton Towers amusement park, Kedleston Hall or the beautiful Peak District are a short drive from the hotel. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also enjoy a workout in the hotel's cardio gym. If arriving by car, the nearest public car park is available at Chapel Street car park, a 3 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel boasts 213 comfortable bedrooms for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds with crisp linen, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Derby at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jurys Inn Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Derby Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing