We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is what it is - a city centre hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jurys Inn Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jurys Inn Derby
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
New Waltham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It is what it is - a city centre hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Feeling pretty smug because we only paid £20.14 each with breakfast via a promotion been run through 2014 by a separate site, which also applies to Saturday night. That been said, would gladly pay the full price once the offer expires. We found the room to be quite comfortable and quite easy to get to the temperature that we desired. Room cleanliness was acceptable as was level of decor, furnishings and accessories. Expect to find an Iron and board, hairdryer, kettle and TV. Good powerful shower over a full sized bath.

Reception, bar and restaurant where also comfortable. Price of food and drink is merely a matter of opinion, I thought prices where OK. Breakfast is a buffet style affair, but is brought out so regularly that you are effectively getting a relatively fresh one. Huge range to choose from and quite tasty. Breakfast regime is a pretty relaxed affair too, any time between 7 and 11 on a Sunday, and you don't have to check out until noon either, so relax, enjoy you're breakfast.

We timed our arrival for around 11.30 a.m and had no problem finding a place in the hotel car park, although there are only around thirty spaces, so first come first served. There is a layby in front of the hotel though, so somewhere to drop off luggage and passengers before moving off to find a city centre car park.

Located just across the road from the Cathedral Quarter, accessing shops, bars, restaurants, clubs etc. About a 10-15 minute walk to the Assembly Rooms.

Room Tip: people complain about traffic noise? we always take earplugs when we travel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    642
    207
    77
    36
See reviews for
311
509
87
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed again for one night, double 'superior' room/breakfast for £77 via Booking.com. Our room was on the 7th floor providing good views over the city.
Again, staff were friendly and helpful, especially the maintenance man who reprogrammed our TV for us. Our room was clean with excellent adjustable air conditioning, but despite being 'superior' had fairly basic amenities, with few drinks/milk etc, and a basic double bed as opposed to king size. Other touches lacking were the provision of a morning paper and a security safe in the room, although they had them in reception.
Some inconsiderate guests playing music until after 3am spoilt a good night's sleep, but the breakfast was very nice and well organised

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steval75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I wasnt suprised why this hotel had such good reviews. It is such good value for money. The staff are very friendly and professional. The rooms were very clean, spacious and had everything you needed. I would recommend a room at the back of the hotel though as we had a room at the front on a Saturday night and could hear the booming music coming from a club in the town. (Even though this is no fault of the hotels at all) I cant fault this hotel what so ever, its classy,clean and very welcoming and the breakfast is really nice, has a wide variety of choice from bagels,fruit and cereal to a full cooked breakfast. Its fresh and replenished regularly and is served between 7-11am to cater for early birds and people who want a lie in. If your thinking of staying here then do! Its worth every penny and more. And to top it off its in walking distance to the town centre. Perfect!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel.Its a modern hotel and central to Derby town centre. I was there visiting for the week end, for a family engagement party. I suggest a room at the back of the hotel for peace and quiet. My room was warm and quiet. Very clean with everything I needed. It felt secure and the beds were very comfortable with black out curtains for a good nights sleep. The bar is excellent open until 1 am with a vibrant atmosphere. Breakfast says buffet style. Which understates it somewhat. It is buffet but the turn over of food is quick, therefore all is freshly prepared and there was lots left, when we all went down at 10.15 as most of my family were also staying in the hotel. The food was excellent. Plenty of tables and a clean environment. Tables were cleared quickly. The staff were warm and welcoming as we arrived on a rainy day.
Yes the car park is small and was full. But there is one across the road a multi storey. We stayed there for 24 hours which cost us £10.50. Over night it was £7.20. Not too bad really and the car was secure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as this is quieter. Because it is close to the town centre s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveller956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was good with plenty of selection of continental and hot food. The hotel bar is ridiculously expensive £8.60 for 2 drinks to me this is way over the top compared to £5 in town. It is only a few minutes walk into town with plenty of bars and restaurants. we managed to park our car in the hotel car park which cost £6 for 24 hours. we didn't dine at the hotel in the evening because the menu looked too expensive so we walked into town which was much better value for eating out. Traffic noise could be heard from our room on level 4 so I didn't sleep too well. I would stay again but ask for a room on a higher level up.
Overall a good stay here

Room Tip: Walk into town for drinks much cheaper than the hotel bar Better choice and value of food in town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AutumnRedRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham, england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Six of us 40 something 'girls' have just spent a very enjoyable overnight stay at Jurys Inn Derby; for a weekend of shopping and an evening show at The Assembly Rooms.
We booked 3 rooms and were granted our request at them being next to each other.
Arriving at 1pm on Saturday afternoon, parking in the carpark under the hotel was no problem, and at £6 for 24 hours was good value. Our rooms were ready for us on arrival and check in was swift, efficient and very friendly- despite us each paying separately, then adding on breakfast!
Rooms were a decent enough size for an overnight stay and had a good choice of coffee and tea making facilities. Bathrooms were clean , powerful shower, and included nice shower gel and decent fluffy towels.
We had drinks in the bar before (and after!) going into town, and it was very comfortable and relaxing.
Breakfast on Sunday morning was very busy when we went down at 9am..but the very friendly lady Magda (?sp) allowed us to grab a coffee until the rush had died down and she reserved a long table for us all. Breakfast was a great choice of hot and cold, including porridge; and the staff worked very hard replenishing supplies.
All in all, a great value overnight stay at a large, clean, modern and very comfortable hotel- with a special mention and thankyou to the very friendly and efficient staff on reception, bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have fabulous views of the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Spent another night here recently; and again, no reason to complain. Good value, friendly staff, good rooms, clean with an excellent buffet breakfast (great choice of options). Very convenient for city centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Geologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
1.2 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Derby

Property: Jurys Inn Derby
Address: King Street, Derby DE1 3DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Derby is ideally located within the city's Cathedral Quarter, ideal for both business visitors, due to the proximity of Derby's thriving business district, and leisure guests keen to explore the city's rich history and culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from a variety of museums, concert halls, markets and galleries as well as a pleasant walk from Derby's shopping epicentre, St. Peter's Quarter. Alton Towers amusement park, Kedleston Hall or the beautiful Peak District are a short drive from the hotel. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also enjoy a workout in the hotel's cardio gym. If arriving by car, the nearest public car park is available at Chapel Street car park, a 3 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel boasts 213 comfortable bedrooms for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds with crisp linen, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Derby at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Derby Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing