We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Jurys Inn Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jurys Inn Derby
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Firstly, a couple of poor points. We booked a Chatsworth trip as part of the package and it took several phone calls, which were never returned, to find out if we could be emailed the tickets or whether we had to pick them up. We were given several different responses and ended up having to call in for tickets on the way.

After we returned from an evening meal in the city there was a stag group in the bar area who were a little boisterous, however I guess this type of Hotel is prone to this.

Apart from these minor(ish) points the hotel was great.

Staff were quick and courteous at check in, we asked for a quite room, which we got.

The room and bathroom was functional and clean. The breakfast was very good, having everything, hot and cold, you could wish for available.

The staff made several phone calls on our behalf to book a restaurant. Again there were no issues here and they were very helpful, they even got us into a resturant that we had tried the previous day but we were told that it was fully booked.

Overall a very good stay.

Room Tip: We were in a small area on the top floor of the hotel, only a few rooms available so cut down on noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeybUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    654
    209
    77
    37
See reviews for
316
516
88
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group for a hen party night. Everything was perfect! Rooms were great and clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Location was great for the town and easy to find. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lornadoone2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Ok so not a five star hotel, but if you want simple, clean unpretentious, close to the city then this cannot be beaten. I never understand how hotels can sometimes get it so wrong, lovely crisp clean bedding, sparkling simple bathroom, great air con and soundproofing. Such a polite receptionist (from Ireland i think) who could not have been more helpful and friendly. Really recommend this hotel if you just want a simple place to sleep, really well done Jurys !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davebes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Comfy and Spacious Rooms
Good Television
Helpful Staff (Will Bring Iron and Ironing Board to room, I am used to picking up from reception)
Good Location
Cheap Overnight Parking but Limited
Excellent Breakfast

Recommend for anyone of any age, Ideal for Hen Party's/ Stag Do's due to location and cost

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWaddle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on business. A high quality hotel with good facilities. The rooms are a cut above your average place, and the overall decor of the place is to a high level. Very clean, great service, and great midweek rates. Good location too. A bit of a faff going to the public car park as the hotel one easily fills up. Clear instructions from the reception intercom soon solved the issue, with the public car park (secured overnight) only a couple of minutes walk away. Avoid the other hotel "chains" and give this place a try.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fonz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here on the 30th July for 2 nights with national holidays as part of a trip to Alton towers. (40 minutes to the park) The coach had to drive round the hotel 4 times due to lack of coach parking at the hotel. other than that we have no complaints. Staff couldn't be more helpful - they even changed the breakfast time so that we could leave early enough to get to altontowers for it opening, room was lovley with easy to work air con, bath/shower, comfy double bed and spare single bed, freeview tv,hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities and iron. Would definatley stay here again. Already trying to plan another Alton towers trip with this hotel in mind !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanandjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We are a family of 4 with 2 toddlers visiting family nearby. Finding value is not easy but this hotel completely exceeded expectations. The warm spell meant the air con and the ice machines facilities were very well appreciated. We had 3 beds and a pull out bed, all very comfy for just £40. I have paid nearly triple that for just the same or even less before now. It's a clean and modern hotel with friendly, welcoming staff. Nice bar, gym and has outside seating too. The view from our room overlooked the cathedral which was lovely. The buffet breakfast had lots of choice and was fresh and topped up continuously to make sure there was plenty for all and children under 12 eat free, again presenting great value. Probably one of the best hotel experiences for the money. The only very slight downside and I mean very slight, is that there is nowhere near enough car parking spaces for the hotel. There is a multi storey only 3 mins walk away though but obviously there is a charge, although very reasonable. It would be useful if there was details of the parking locations on the hotel website. Personally i think the hotel facilities and value more than make up for the minor parking issue. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afamilyof4away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
1.2 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Derby

Property: Jurys Inn Derby
Address: King Street, Derby DE1 3DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Derby is ideally located within the city's Cathedral Quarter, ideal for both business visitors, due to the proximity of Derby's thriving business district, and leisure guests keen to explore the city's rich history and culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from a variety of museums, concert halls, markets and galleries as well as a pleasant walk from Derby's shopping epicentre, St. Peter's Quarter. Alton Towers amusement park, Kedleston Hall or the beautiful Peak District are a short drive from the hotel. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. Guests can also enjoy a workout in the hotel's cardio gym. If arriving by car, the nearest public car park is available at Chapel Street car park, a 3 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel boasts 213 comfortable bedrooms for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds with crisp linen, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Derby at Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jurys Inn Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Derby Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing